U.S. flag An official website of the United States government
  1. Home
  2. Science & Research
  3. About Science & Research at FDA
  4. Excellence in Data and Computational Science
  1. About Science & Research at FDA

Excellence in Data and Computational Science

Data science refers broadly to research where analysis, processing, or manipulation of scientific data is the central aim. Data science includes, but is not limited to, development and use of innovative or uniquely applied methods of analysis, such as, contaminant profile tracking, device failure analysis, drug interaction analysis, food safety analysis, epidemiological research, predictive modeling, methods correlation and data analysis, data visualization, statistical method development, computational modeling and simulation (CMS), and machine learning or artificial intelligence approaches to support scientific or investigative operations.

Rama Rayavarapu, Ph.D. (CTP)
For his collaborative approaches and cross-Center efforts to solve current data science challenges and prepare the Agency for future challenges.



Brent Craven, PhD (CDRH)

For the sustained effort to improve and standardize the credibility assessment of computational modeling data in regulatory science.


Berkman Sahiner, PhD (CDRH)

For outstanding contributions to the development and performance assessment of computer-aided detection and diagnosis systems in radiology and other medical data applications.



Susan Genualdi, PhD

For her outstanding work on the development, validation and implementation of an analytical method for the determination of PFAS chemicals in food products.



Nandini Duraiswamy, PhD
For leading a multi-year effort involving diverse stakeholders that improved our understanding of the mechanical performance of transcatheter heart valve replacement devices



Berk Oktem, PhD
For developing an analytical test method using mass spectrometry to identify hazardous chemical emissions in vapors and aerosols generated from electronic nicotine delivery systems (e-cigarettes).  



Minjun Chen, PhD
For regulatory science contributions towards understanding and screening for drug-induced liver injury in the regulatory environment.



Shaun MacMahon, PhD
Specialist in mass spectrometric methods for the analysis of food additives, contaminants, and evidence of economic adulteration in foods.  



Zhiwei Zhang, Ph.D., CDRH
For making innovative contributions to many areas in the fields of biostatistics and clinical trials while being a full-time, expert statistical reviewer in CDRH.



Telba Z. Irony, Ph.D., CDRH
For spearheading innovative regulatory science studies, culminating in the release of novel guidance documents; supporting complex policy decision-making; and changing the submission review paradigm. 



Jun-Jie Yin, Ph.D., CFSAN
For outstanding work in the development of electron spin resonance (ESR) techniques to understand the formation of free radicals in nanomaterials, cosmetics and dietary supplements.


Mikhail Ovanesov, Ph.D., CBER
For laboratory investigation that identified the cause of thromboembolic events in patients receiving immunoglobulin treatments, which led to immediate product withdrawal from the market.


Hsien-Ming James Hung, PhD, CDER
For sustained excellent achievements to regulatory science in the areas of clinical trial methodology



Sue-Jane Wang, Ph.D., CDER
For a sustained record of published regulatory research in statistical design and methodology advancing complex and emerging clinical trial designs and analysis that support regulatory guidance, policies and review.



Keith Peden, PhD, CBER
For the development of assays for the estimation of the risk posed by residual DNA in vaccines manufactured in neoplastic cell substrates.



Back to Top