U.S. flag An official website of the United States government
  1. Home
  2. For Federal, State, Local, Tribal, and Territorial Officials
  3. Funding Opportunities
  4. Contracts
  5. MQSA Inspection Contract Program
  1. Contracts

MQSA Inspection Contract Program

What is the MQSA Inspection Contract Program?

The Mammography Quality Standards Act (MQSA) was signed into law on October 27, 1992. The intent of the Act is to ensure that women receive high quality mammography for early breast cancer detection by requiring the establishment of a federal certification and inspection program for mammography facilities.

The Act authorizes FDA to obtain state, local, and territorial assistance in enforcing the MQSA requirements including annual inspections of all certified mammography facilities.

Which states currently have a contract?

United States Map displaying 40 FDA funded MQSA inspection contract states: AL, AR, AZ, CA, CO, CT, DE, FL, GA, HI, ID, KS, KY, LA, MA, MD, ME, MI, MO, MS, MT, NC, ND, NH, NJ, NM, NV, NY, OH, OR, PA, RI, SD, TN, UT, VA, VT, WA, WI, WV 

  • 42 contracts with state, local and territorial government agencies.
  • FDA has contracts with 41 states and territories (including Puerto Rico).
  • New York City and the state of New York have separate contracts.
  • FDA provides over $10.7 million in funding each year under this contract program.

Where can I find more information?

For more information including regulations, guidance, facility certification and inspection, reports, and more, you can search here.

Specific questions on this program can be directed to the appropriate Office of Partnerships' contact within the Division of Partnership Investments and Agreements. Please visit the Office of Partnerships Contacts webpage to obtain a downloaded version of the staffing roster. 

General questions may be directed to the Office of Partnerships' general mailbox: op.feedback@fda.hhs.gov

Back to Top