U.S. flag An official website of the United States government
  1. Home
  2. Advisory Committees
  3. Committees and Meeting Materials
  4. Tobacco Products Scientific Advisory Committee
  5. Roster of the Tobacco Products Scientific Advisory Committee
  1. Tobacco Products Scientific Advisory Committee

Roster of the Tobacco Products Scientific Advisory Committee

As part of the food and Drug Administration's (FDA's) ongoing efforts to recruit qualified experts with minimal conflicts of interest who are interested in serving on FDA advisory committees, FDA is requesting nominations for members to serve on its advisory committees. Please see the Federal Register notice for more information on the nomination process for Tobacco Products Scientific Advisory Committee (TPSAC) membership.  

Applying for Membership on FDA Advisory Committees 

Current Number of Vacancies: 0


Cristine Delnevo, Ph.D., MPH
Expertise: Tobacco Control, Cigars
Term: 7/19/22 – 1/31/25
Director and Professor
Rutgers Center for Tobacco Studies
Department of Health Behavior
Society & Policy
Rutgers School of Public Health
New Brunswick, NJ  08901

Designated Federal Officer 

Serina A. Hunter-Thomas, MSA, RN
Food and Drug Administration 
Center for Tobacco Products 
Document Control Center 
Building 71, Room G335
10903 New Hampshire Avenue
Silver Spring, MD 20993-0002
Phone: 1-877-CTP-1373


## William Andy Bailey, Ph.D.
Expertise: Industry Representative
Term: 2/1/17 – 1/31/25
Extension Professor and Dark Tobacco Specialist
University of Kentucky Research and Education Center
Princeton, Kentucky 42445

Maria Gogova, M.D., Ph.D.
Expertise: Industry Representative-Manufacturers
Term: 12/11/23 – 12/1/27
Vice President and Chief Scientific Officer
Altria Client Services, LLC
Richmond, VA  23234

Mignonne C. Guy, Ph.D.
Expertise: Health outcomes disparities, Interdisciplinary research methods
Term: 7/19/22 – 1/31/26
Associate Professor & Chair
Department of African American Studies
Founder & Co-Chair, Committee on Racial Equity (CORE)
Faculty Investigator, Center for the Study of Tobacco Products
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA  23284-2509

Sven-Eric Jordt, Ph.D.
Expertise: Tobacco Science, Pharmacology, Toxicology
Term:  4/26/23 – 1/31/2027
Associate Professor of Anesthesiology
 Pharmacology and Cancer Biology
Duke University School of Medicine
Durham, NC 27710

Adam Leventhal, Ph.D.
Expertise: Addiction Science, Prev. Medicine
Term: 5/19/20 – 1/31/26
Director, USC Institute for Addiction Science
and Health, Emotion, & Addiction Laboratory
Professor of Preventive Medicine and Psychology
USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center
Keck School of Medicine
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA  90033

Lucy Popova, Ph.D.
Expertise: Communications and marketing; Perceptions, intentions, and behavior related to tobacco product use 
Term: 3/4/21 – 1/31/25
Associate Professor
Second Century Initiative (2CI) Scholar
Department of Health Policy and Behavioral Sciences
School of Public Health
Georgia State University
Atlanta, GA 30302

Nancy A. Rigotti, M.D. 
Expertise: Internal Medicine; Tobacco cessation  and harm reduction; Tobacco control 
Term: 6/13/23 - 1/31/27
Physician and Investigator
Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School 
Director, Tobacco Research and Treatment Center 
Massachusetts General Hospital 
Boston, MA 02114

Risa Robinson, Ph.D.
Expertise: Engineering, Respiratory Delivery Devices, Aerosol Mechanics, Topography
Term: 7/19/22 – 1/31/26
Professor & Department Head of Mechanical Engineering
Director of the Respiratory Technologies Laboratory
Kate Gleason College of Engineering
Rochester Institute of Technology
Rochester, NY 14623

NFN Scout, Ph.D., M.A.
Expertise: Applied Mathematics, Sociology, Sociomedical Sciences
Term: 7/19/22 – 1/31/26
Executive Director
National LGBT Cancer Network
Providence, RI 02906

** Dona Upson, M.D., M.A.
Expertise: Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Term: 7/19/22 – 1/31/26
New Mexico Veteran Affairs Health Care System
Raymond G. Murphy Medical Center
Albuquerque, NM  87108

As described in the charter of the committee, the membership includes: 

*   Representative of the General Public
** Employee of a state or local government or of the Federal Government
#   Representative of the tobacco manufacturing industry, non-voting
          Alternate: Maria Gogova, M.D., Ph.D. - Altria Client Services
## Representative of the interests of tobacco growers, non-voting
         Alternate: William Maksymowicz, Ph.D., Burley Stabilization Corporation

As described in the charter, the membership includes no single designated representative for the interest of small business tobacco manufacturing industry, the Commissioner or designee may select a small business tobacco representative from a pool of individuals nominated by small business tobacco to serve temporarily as a nonvoting member, depending on the expertise needed, on a case by case basis. The list of individuals in the pool can be viewed here.

Additional Resources

Back to Top