Consumer Advice on Lupin
People who are allergic to peanuts may also react to lupin, a legume belonging to the same plant family as peanuts (also spelled lupine or lupini). These reactions can be severe and life-threatening.
If you’re allergic to peanuts, you should be aware of the potential for a reaction to lupin. Lupin can be eaten as a whole bean, but lupin flour is increasingly used in baked goods and pasta, especially gluten-free products.
Some people may have an allergic reaction to lupin even if they are not allergic to peanuts, but people with peanut allergies are most at risk.
To identify products that contain lupin, look for it by name in the ingredient list on the label.
Who should know
US consumers, especially those with peanut allergies; health care professionals; school administrators and personnel; the food industry; food services; restaurants and retail food establishments.
What to do
If you believe that you are having an allergic reaction to lupin beans or ingredients made from lupin, stop eating the food and seek immediate medical care or advice.
FDA wants to know about allergic reactions to lupin in US consumers. You or your health care provider can help by reporting these adverse events to FDA in the following ways:
- By phone at 240-402-2405
- By email at CAERS@cfsan.fda.gov
- By mail at: FDA, CAERS, HFS-700, 2A-012/CPK1, 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 20740
Why this advice is important
Lupin beans and lupin-containing products are commonly eaten in Europe, where they are recognized as a potential allergen and are labeled as such. This labeling is not currently required in the US, so consumers allergic to peanuts need to know to check for lupin in the ingredients list on the label.