2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC63
Submitter : Mrs. Annette Byers Date & Time: 08/16/2005 05:08:32
Organization : St. Vincent Hospital
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
1. Gluten-free should mean NO oats, wheat, rye or barley or derivitives are in the ingredients.
2. I have to read thoroughly the ingredients and hope they are accurate. Often terms like modified food starch tells me nothing. Is it food starch from corn, wheat, what?
3. I would say the % of gluten-free identified foods are 5 or 10%, if that.
4. Yes, GF or gluten-free does influence my decision to purchase. Then I know I will not become sick or put my health at risk. I am only recently taking this disease seriously, because the symptoms are being more severe when gluten goes undetected.