2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC1382
Submitter : Mrs. Janet Kinney Date & Time: 09/20/2005 06:09:29
Organization : Mrs. Janet Kinney
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
Gluten-free should mean that there is NO gluten in the processed food. It is a known fact that wheat, barley, rye, and oats, and their derivatives, contain glute. The term "contains natural ingredients" ios not to be trusted as gluten free. The term does not really describe the true contents.

As a person having celiac disease, I do not buy anything that does not identify the full content by ingredient name. I do not purchase anything that MAY contain gluten. It takes several months for the body of a person having celiac disease to heal after eating a meal containing gluten.

ALL labels should be explicit and accurate in identifying the ingredients of a product.