JUNE 7-8, 2004








Douglas L. Archer, Ph.D.


University of Florida

Food Science & Human Nutrition Department

359 FSHN Building, Newell Drive

P.O. Box 110370

Gainesville, FL 32611-0370


Patrick S. Callery, Ph. D.

Assistant Dean for Research and Graduate Programs

West Virginia University

1 Medical Center Drive, HSN Building, Room 2028

Morgantown, WV  26506-9530


Annette Dickinson, Ph.D.


Council for Responsible Nutrition

1828 L Street, NW

Suite 900

Washington, DC 20036-5114


Goulda A. Downer, Ph.D.


Metroplex Health and Nutrition Services

6323 Georgia Avenue, NW

Washington, DC 20011-1117


Johanna Dwyer, D.Sc, RD

Senior Nutrition Scientist

Office of Dietary Supplements, NIH

6100 Executive Boulevard MSC 7517

Bethesda MD 20892


Ms. Jean M. Halloran 

Director, Consumer Policy Institute/Consumers Union

101 Truman Avenue

Yonkers, NY  10703




Norman I. Krinsky, Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor

Department of Biochemistry

Tufts University School of Medicine

136 Harrison Ave.

Boston, MA  02111-1837


Daryl B. Lund, Ph.D.

Executive Director, North Central Regional Association and Professor of Food Science

University of Wisconsin-Madison

1450 Linden Drive

Madison, WI  53706


Margaret C. McBride, M.D.

Chief, Division of Neurology

Children’s Hospital Medical Center of Akron, Ohio

One Perkins Square

Akron, OH  44308-1062


Sanford A. Miller, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor and Senior Fellow

Virginia Polytechnic and State University

5450 Whitley Park Terrace, #704

Bethesda, MD  20814


Mark F. Nelson, Ph. D

Vice President, Scientific and Regulatory Policy

Grocery Manufacturers of America

2401 Pennsylvania Ave., NW

Washington, DC 20037


Robert M. Russell, MD


Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center

On Aging

Tufts University

711 Washington Street

Boston, MA 02111


Brandon Scholz

President & Chief Executive Officer

Wisconsin Grocers Association, Inc

One South Pinkney Street, Suite 504

Madison, Wisconsin 53703





Carolyn I. Waslien, Ph. D., R. D.

Professor, Nutritional Epidemiology

John Burns School of Medicine University of Hawaii

1960 East West Road

Honolulu, HI  96822



Dietary Supplements Subcommittee Members


Edward Blonz, Ph.D.


139 Purdue Avenue

Kensington, CA  94708-1032


Edward D. Harris, Ph.D.

Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics

Texas A&M University

College Station, Texas 77843-2128


Michael McGuffin

President, American Herbal Products Association

8484 Georgia Ave., #370

Silver Spring, MD  20910


Harihara M. Mehendale, Ph.D.

The University of Louisiana at Monroe

Professor and Kitty DeGree Endowed Chair in Toxicology

Department of Toxicology

College of Pharmacy

700 University Avenue

Sugar Hall #306

Monroe, LA 71292-0495


Steven Zeisel, M.D. Ph.D.

Assoc. Dean for Research, School of Public Health

Professor & Chairman, School of Health & School of Medicine

Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

CB # 7400 Rm 2213 McGavran Greenberg Hall

Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400



Temporary Voting Members


Steven Abramson, M.D.

Professor of Medicine and Pathology

NYU Medical Center

Hospital for Joint Diseases

Department of Rheumatology and Medicine

301 East 17th Street

New York, NY 10003


John J. Cush, M.D.

Chief, Rheumatology and Clinical Immunology

Presbyterian Hospital of Dallas

Arthritis Consultation Center

8200 Walnut Hill Lane

Dallas, TX  75231


Luis Espinoza, M.D.

Chief, Section of Rheumatology

Louisiana State University

Medical Center

1542 Tulane Avenue

New Orleans, LA  70112


David Felson, MD, M.P.H.

Chief, Boston University Clinical Epidemiology Research Training Unit

Boston University School of Medicine

715 Albany Street

Boston, MA  02118


Scott A. Kale, M.D., J.D., M.S.

30 S. Michigan Avenue, Suite 500

Chicago, IL  60603  


Nancy E. Lane, M.D.

Associate Professor In Residence of Medicine and Rheumatology

San Francisco General Hospital

1001 Potero Avenue

Building 30, Rm 3300

San Francisco, CA  94110