Antiviral Drugs Advisory Committee


August 20, 2003 Meeting


Additional Meeting Participants



Acting Industry Representative (non-voting)


                        Kenneth R. Brown, M.D.

                        Independent Consultant on Vaccines, Antibiotics, and Tropical Medicine

                        8111 Winston Road

                        Philadelphia, Pennsylvania  19118



Consultants (voting)


Ralph B. D’Agostino, Ph.D.

                        Professor of Mathematics/Statistics and Public Health

                        Director Statistics and Consulting Unit

                        Director Framingham Study Statistics/Data Management

                        Editor Statistics in Medicine

                        Boston University

                        111 Cummington Street

                        Boston, Massachusetts  02215


                        Thomas R. Fleming, Ph.D.

                        Professor and Chair

                        Department of Biostatistics

                        University of Washington

Box 357232

Seattle, Washington  98195


                        Richard H. Haubrich, M.D.

                        Associate Adjunct Professor of Medicine

                        UCSD Antiviral Research Center

                        150 W. Washington Street, Suite 100

                        San Diego, California  92103


                        Alice M. Stek, M.D.

                        Assistant Professor of Clinical Obstetrics and Gynecology

                        Division of Women’s Health

                        University of Southern California, School of Medicine

                        Los Angeles County + University of Southern California Medical Center

                        Women’s & Children’s Hospital, Rm. 5K40

                        1240 North Mission Road

                        Los Angeles, California  90033








Guest Speakers (non-voting)


                        Andrew Nunn, M.Sc.

                        Head, Division Without Portfolio

                        Medical Research Council

                        Clinical Trials Unit

                        222 Euston Road

                        London NW1 2DA, United Kingdom


                        Salim S. Abdool Karim, M.D., Ph.D.

                        Director, Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa

                        University of Natal

                        King George V Avenue

                        Durban 4041

                        South Africa


                        Lut Van Damme, M.D., M.Sc.

                        International Clinical Research Manager


                        1611 North Kent Street, Suite 806

                        Arlington, Virginia  22209



HHS Federal Guests (non-voting)  


                        Jorge Flores, M.D.

                        Chief, Vaccine Clinical Research Branch

                        Vaccine and Prevention Research Program

                        Division of AIDS, National Institutes of Health

                        6700-B Rockledge Drive, MSC 7628

                        4th Floor, Room 4154

                        Bethesda, Maryland  20892


                        Lynn Paxton, M.D., M.P.H.

                        Chief, Sexual Transmission and Injection Drug Use

                        Studies Section, DHAP-SE

                        Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

                        1600 Clifton Road, MS-E45

                        Atlanta, Georgia  30333



Patient Representative (voting)


                        Lori Heise

                        Director, Global Campaign for Microbicides

                        1800 K Street, NW, Suite 800

                        Washington, DC  20006










Open Public Hearing Speakers


Richard Bax, M.D.                                                                   

Vice President and Chief Scientific Officer

Biosyn, Inc.


Polly Harrison, Ph.D.                                                                


Alliance for Microbicide Development


Ian McGowan, M.D., Ph.D.                                                      

            Associate Professor of Medicine

            Co-Director, Center for HIV & Digestive Diseases

            David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA


Don Waldron, Ph.D.

Head of Clinical Research Unit

Center for Biomedical Research

Population Council, Rockefeller University


Tim Farley, Ph.D.                                                                    


                        Controlling Sexually Transmitted and Reproductive Tract Infections

                        Department of Reproductive Health and Research

                        World Health Organization


Amy Allina                                                                               

                        National Women’s Health Network


Rosalie Dominik, DrPH

Director of Biostatistics

Family Health International


Zena Stein, M.A., M.B., B.Ch.

Professor of Epidemiology and Psychiatry Emerita

Columbia University


Malcolm Potts, MB, BChir, PhD, FRCOG

Bixby Professor

School of Public Health

University of California, Berkeley


Laurie N. Sylla, MHSA, BSW                                                    written submission only

Director, Connecticut AIDS Education and Training Center

Yale University School of Nursing


                        Robert Munk, Ph.D.                                                                  written submission only

                        New Mexico AIDS InfoNet


                        Anna Forbes                                                                              written submission only

            Global North Programs Coordinator

                        Global Campaign for Microbicides