Anti-Infective Drugs Advisory Committee

February 20, 2002 Meeting

Consultants and Guests


Consultants (voting) – Pending New AIDAC Members

David M. Bell, M.D.

Assistant to the Director for Antimicrobial Resistance

National Center for Infectious Diseases

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

1600 Clifton Road NE (C-12)

Atlanta, Georgia 30333


Mary Glode, M.D.

Professor of Pediatrics

The Children’s Hospital of Denver

University of Colorado Health Sciences Center

1056 East Nineteenth Avenue

Denver, Colorado 80218


Celia Maxwell, M.D.

Associate Professor of Medicine

Office of the Vice President for Health Affairs

Howard University

2041 Georgia Avenue

Washington, D.C. 20060


Jan E. Patterson, M.D.

Professor of Medicine (Infectious Diseases) and Pathology

Hospital Epidemiologist

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

7703 Floyd Curl Drive

San Antonio, Texas 78229-3900


Ciro Sumaya, M.D.

Dean, School of Rural Public Health

Texas A&M University System Health Science Center

3000 Briarcrest Drive, Suite 310

Bryan, Texas 77802


Consultants (voting)

P. Joan Chesney, M.D.

Professor of Pediatrics

Department of Pediatrics

University of Tennessee College of Medicine

50 North Dunlap

Memphis, Tennessee 38103


Celia Christie-Samuels, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.A.P.

Professor and Chair in Child Health

University Hospital of the West Indies

Mona, Kingston 7

Jamaica, West Indies


Janet Wittes, Ph.D. (Consultant – Center for Devices and Radiological Health)


Statistics Collaborative

1710 Rhode Island Avenue, NW

Washington, DC 20036


Guests (non-voting)

Don Goldmann, M.D.

Children’s Hospital

Division of Infectious Diseases

300 Longwood Avenue

Boston, Massachusetts 02115


Joshua P. Metlay, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Division of General Internal Medicine

Center for Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics

712 Blockley Hall, 423 Guardian Drive

University of Pennsylvania

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19104


Marissa A. Miller, D.V.M., M.P.H.

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases

Bacteriology and Mycology Branch

6700-B Rockledge Drive, Rm. 3112

Bethesda, Maryland 20892-7630


Coleman Rotstein, M.D.

Henderson Site

Hamilton Health Sciences

711 Concession Street

Hamilton, Ontario L8V1C3

PhRMA Representatives (non-voting)

David Shlaes, M.D. – Wyeth Ayerst Research

Catherine Hardalo, M.D. – Schering Plough

Lianng Yuh, Ph.D. – AstraZeneca

Christy Chuang-Stein, Ph.D. – Pharmacia

Industry Representative (non-voting)

Francis Tally, M.D. – Cubist Pharmaceuticals


IDSA Representatives (non-voting)

Louis B. Rice, M.D. – Louis Stokes Cleveland VAMC

George H. Talbot, M.D. – Talbot Advisors LLC

Dennis D. Wallace, Ph.D. – Rho Federal Systems Division, Inc.