Technical Electronic Product Radiation Safety Standards Committee


The Commissioner of Food and Drugs is charged with the Administration of the Radiation Control for Health and Safety Act of 1968.  To assist the Commissioner in discharging her responsibilities under the Act, the Technical Electronic Product Radiation Safety Standards Committee (TEPRSSC), created by the Act, consults with the Commissioner regarding the protection of public health from radiation emissions from electronic products.


The Committee is established pursuant to the provisions of the Radiation Control for Health and Safety Act of 1968 (21 USC 360kk) and is also governed by the provisions of Pub.L. 92-463, as amended (5 USC App. 2), which sets forth standards for the formation and use of advisory committees.


This Committee provides advice and consultation to the Commissioner of Food and Drugs on the technical feasibility, reasonableness, and practicability of performance standards for electronic products to control the emission of radiation from such products, and may recommend electronic product radiation safety standards to the Commissioner for consideration.


The Committee consists of 15 members including the chair selected by the Commissioner for overlapping terms of 4 years.  Five members are selected from governmental agencies, including State and Federal Governments, five members from the affected industries, and five members from the general public, of which at least one shall be a representative of organized labor.  Members are technically qualified by training and experience in one or more fields of science or engineering applicable to electronic product radiation safety.

Management staff services are provided by the Center for Devices and Radiological Health, Food and Drug Administration.


Meetings are held approximately once a year at the call of the Chair with the advance approval of a Government official who shall also approve the agenda.  A Government official shall be present at all meetings.

Page 2 – TEPRSSC Charter

Meetings shall be conducted and records of the proceedings kept as required by Pub.L. 92-463, Pub.L. 90-602, and applicable Departmental regulations.


A quorum shall consist of 10 members, of which at least 3 shall be from the general public, 3 from the government agencies, and 3 from the affected industries.


Members who are not full-time Federal employees shall be paid at a rate equivalent to the General Schedule grade 15, step 10, per day for time spent at meetings plus per diem and travel expenses in accordance with Standard Government Travel Regulations.

Annual Cost Estimate

The estimated annual cost for operating the Committee, assuming one meeting per year, including compensation and travel expenses for members but excluding staff support, will be $24,989.

Estimated annual years of staff support required, assuming one meeting per year, is .40 at an estimated annual cost of $ญญญญ 47,465.


In the event that a portion of a meeting is closed to the public, a report is prepared not later than November 1 of each year which contains as a minimum the function of the committee, a list of members and their business addresses, the dates and places of meetings, and a summary of the Committee's activities and recommendations during the preceding year.  The report is made available to the public in accordance with the provisions of Pub.L. 92-463 and applicable Departmental regulations.


The Technical Electronic Product Radiation Safety Standards Committee is a permanent statutory committee established by 21 USC 360kk.

A new charter will be filed no later than December 24, 2002, in accordance with sec. 14(b)(2) of Pub.L. 92-463.


       12/ 19 / 00                                                    ______/ S /______________                        
Date                                                                 Linda Suydam, D.P.A.
                                                                        Senior Associate Commissioner