Open Public Hearing Speakers for May 11, 2001

Joint Meeting - Nonprescription Drugs Advisory Committee &

Pulmonary - Allergy Drugs Advisory Committee

Petition 98P-0610/CP1 - submitted by Blue Cross of California requesting
fexofenadine hydrochloride, loratadine and cetirizine hydrocholoride be switched to OTC status

All speakers have been asked to limit their comments to five minutes. All speakers have also been asked to disclose their possible sources of conflict of interest before beginning their presentation.

Session 1: 10:15-11am


Eric Schenkel, M.D., Director, Valley Allergy and Asthma Treatment Center, Easton, Pennsylvania   pdf   htm

Steven Weinstein, M.D., Professor of Pediatrics, Division of Allergy and Immunology, College of Medicine, University of California at Irvine   pdf   htm

Diagnostic Testing

Ivor Emanuel, M.D., Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Otolaryngology, University of California, San Francisco, representing Pharmacia Diagnostics pdf   htm


Daniel Hussar Ph.D., Remington Professor of Pharmacy, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy   pdf   htm

Managed Care

Charles Cutler, M.D., Chief Medical Officer, American Association of Health Plans  pdf

Health Consultants to Employers

Frank Brocato, President/CEO, Employers Health Coalition, Tampa Florida pdf   htm

Coalition representing consumer, provider and employer

Mark Cloutier, MPH, MPP, Policy Director, RXHealthValue   pdf   htm

Session 2: 1-2pm (after the lunch break)

Professional Associations

Michael Parker, M.D., American Academy of Otolaryngic Allergy (AAOA)   pdf

Bobby Lanier, M.D., American Academy of Asthma, Allergy and Immunology (AAAAI) and College of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology   pdf   htm

J.A. Quel, M.D., Executive Director, Hispanic American Allergy, Asthma, Immunology Association (HAAMA)   pdf

Michael Kaliner, M.D., Vice President of the World Allergy Association   pdf   htm

Patient Advocacy

Nancy Sander, Allergy and Asthma Network Mothers of Asthmatics   pdf   htm

Richard Carson, Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America   pdf

Manufacturer of Current OTC Antihistamines

Phil Walson, M.D., University of Cincinnati, Director of Clinical Trials, Children’s Hospital representing Whitehall Robins   pdf   htm

Health Consultants

Bryan Luce, Ph.D., MEDTAP International   pdf   htm

Joel W. Hay, Ph.D., Department of Pharmaceutical Economics and Policy, USC and Editor-In-Chief of Value in Health   pdf  htm

Steve Francesco, President Francesco International; newsletter SWITCH   pdf   htm

Trade Organizations

Bert Spilker, M.D., Senior Vice President for Science and Regulatory Affairs of the Pharmaceutical Reseearch and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA)   pdf   htm

R. William Soller, Ph.D., Senior Vice President and Director of Science and Technology, Consumer Healthcare Products Association (CHPA)  pdf