Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER) Public Virtual Scientific Workshop Morphine Milligram Equivalents: Current Applications and Knowledge Gaps, Research Opportunities, and Future Directions June 7-8, 2021

Participants

Speakers, Panelists, Moderators

Chairperson

Grace Chai, PharmD

Associate Director for Special Initiatives Office of Surveillance and Epidemiology (OSE) CDER, FDA

Speakers

Patrizia Cavazzoni, MD

Director - Center for Drug Evaluation and Research FDA

Francesca Cunningham, PharmD

Department of Veterans Affairs

Thomas Emmendorfer, PharmD

Department of Veterans Affairs

Jeffrey Fudin, PharmD, FCCP, FASHP, FFSMB

Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences; Albany NY Western New England University College of Pharmacy; Springfield MA Stratton VA Medical Center; Albany NY Remitigate Therapeutics; Delmar NY

Maria Luisa Molinari, MD

Senior Clinical Assessor at the Medicine and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) PGDip in Drug Development Science from King's College London

Justin Pittaway-Hay, PhD

Medicine and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA)

The following speakers will also be panelists, asking presenters clarifying questions throughout the meeting and responding to the questions for full panel discussion.

Shanna Babalonis, PhD

Assistant Professor in the Center on Drug and Alcohol Research and the College of Medicine at the University of Kentucky

Sandra Comer, PhD

Professor of Neurobiology in the Department of Psychiatry at Columbia University and Research Scientist VI at the New York State Psychiatric Institute

Penney Cowan

Founder, CEO American Chronic Pain Association

Nabarun Dasgupta, MPH, PhD

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Departmental Affiliation: Gillings School of Global Public Health and Injury Prevention Research Center

Mary Lynn McPherson, PharmD, MA, MDE, BCPS

Professor and Executive Director, Advanced Post-Graduate Education in Palliative Care Executive Program Director, Online Master of Science and Graduate Certificate Program in Palliative Care

Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science University of Maryland School of Pharmacy

R. Daniel Mellon, PhD

Division of Pharmacology/Toxicology for Neuroscience Office of Neuroscience (ON), Office of New Drugs (OND) CDER, FDA

Mary Therese O'Donnell, MD, MPH

Medical reviewer in the Division of Anesthesiology, Addiction Medicine and Pain Medicine ON, OND, CDER, FDA

Chad J. Reissig, PhD

Behavioral Pharmacologist Controlled Substance Staff Office of the Center Director (OCD) CDER, FDA

Friedhelm Sandbrink, MD

National Program Director for Pain Management, Opioid Safety and PDMP (PMOP), Specialty Care Services, Veterans Health Administration Director Pain Management, Department of Neurology, Washington DC VA Medical Center

Donna A. Volpe, PhD

Division of Applied Regulatory Science Office of Clinical Pharmacology (OCP) CDER, FDA

Corinne Woods, RPh, MPH

Team Lead, Drug Utilization Team OSE, CDER, FDA

Kun Zhang, PhD

Health Scientist, Division of Overdose Prevention, National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Panelists

Please see speaker list above for additional panelists; speakers will also be panelists.

Jeffrey J. Bettinger, PharmD

Clinical Pharmacist Specialist, Pain Management Saratoga Hospital Medical Group

Brooke Chidgey, MD

Division Chief of Pain Management at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Perry G. Fine, MD

Professor of Anesthesiology at the University of Utah in Salt Lake City

David J. McCann, PhD

Associate Director of the Division of Therapeutics and Medical Consequences National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) NIDA, National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Nicola Parkinson, PhD

Benefit Risk Management Group Vigilance and Risk Management of Medicines Medicine and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA)

David A. White, PhD

Director of National Institute on Drug Abuse's Addiction Treatment Discovery Program Division of Therapeutics and Medical Consequences NIDA, NIH

Moderators

Tamra Meyer, PhD, MPH

Team Lead, Nonmedical Use Team #1 Division of Epidemiology II OSE, CDER, FDA

Jennifer Nadel, MD

Medical Officer Division of Anesthesiology, Addiction Medicine, and Pain Medicine ON, OND, CDER, FDA

Judy A. Staffa, PhD, RPh Associate Director for Public Health Initiatives

OSE, CDER, FDA