# <u>Advancing Animal Models for Antibacterial Drug Development –</u> March 5, 2020

# **Speakers and Panelists**

#### Jürgen Bulitta, Ph.D.

Associate Professor College of Pharmacy University of Florida Gainesville, FL

#### Cara Cassino, MD

Chief Medical Officer
Executive VP of Research and Development
ContraFect
Yonkers, NY

## Binh Diep, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Medicine University of California, San Francisco San Francisco, CA

#### John Farley, MD, MPH

Director (Acting)
Office of Infectious Diseases (OID)
FDA/CDER/OND
Silver Spring, MD

## Tina Guina, Ph.D

CARB-X Program Manager Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority (BARDA) Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR) Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Washington, D.C.

## Judith Hewitt, Ph.D

Deputy Director Office of Biodefense, Research Resources, and Translational Research NIH/National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Rockville, MD

#### Jennifer Hoover

Scientific Director Medicine Opportunities Research Unit GlaxoSmithKline Collegeville, PA

#### William Hope, BMBS, Ph.D

Chair of AMR Research Director of Centre of Excellence in Infectious Disease Research Professor, Molecular and Clinical Pharmacology, University of Liverpool Liverpool, UK

## Abhay Joshi, Ph.D

Pharmacology Reviewer
Division of Infectious Disease Pharmacology (DIDP)
Office of Clinical Pharmacology (OCP)
FDA/CDER/OTS
Silver Spring, MD

#### Marina Kozak, Ph.D.

Biologist Division of CBRN Countermeasures HHS/ASPR/BARDA Washington, D.C

#### Matthew Lawrenz, Ph.D

Associate Professor Dept. of Microbiology & Immunology University of Louisville Louisville, KY

#### Alexander Lepak, MD

Assistant Professor of Medicine Dept. of Medicine University of Wisconsin – Madison Madison, WI

#### Brian Luna, Ph.D

Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology and Immunology Keck School of Medicine University of Southern California Los Angeles, CA

#### Lynn Miesel, Ph.D

Global Technical Director In-Vivo Pharmacology Pharmacology Discovery Services Ltd., Eurofins Panlabs, Inc. New York, NY

#### Sumathi Nambiar, MD, MPH

Director Division of Anti-Infectives (DAI) FDA/CDER/OND/OID Silver Spring, MD

#### Eric Nuermberger, MD

Associate Professor School of Medicine Johns Hopkins University Baltimore, MD

## Andrew Phipps, DVM, Ph.D, DACVM

Subject Matter Expert, Contractor
Tunnell Government Services – Supporting Division of CBRN Countermeasures
HHS/ASPR/BARDA
Washington, D.C.

#### Kellie Reynolds, Ph.D

Director Division of Infectious Disease Pharmacology (DIDP) FDA/CDER/OTS/OCP Silver Spring, MD

#### Simone Shurland, Ph.D

Microbiology Reviewer DAI FDA/CDER/OND Silver Spring, MD

## **Bradley Spellberg, MD**

Chief Medical Officer, Los Angeles County-University of Southern California Medical Center Medical Director of Biosciences, Los Angeles, CA Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, Keck School of Medicine, USC Los Angeles, CA

#### Ursula Waack, MS, Ph.D

Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) Fellow OID FDA/CDER/OND

## Achim Wach, Ph.D

Silver Spring, MD

Head DMPK/TK
Polyphor Ltd.
Allschwil, Switzerland

## Thomas Walsh, MD, Ph.D.

Chief, Infectious Diseases Translational Research Laboratory Professor of Medicine Weill Cornell Medicine of Cornell University New York, NY

# Edward Weinstein, MD, Ph.D

Lead Medical Officer DAI FDA/CDER/OND/OID Silver Spring, MD

#### William Weiss, MS

Director, Preclinical Services College of Pharmacy University of North Texas Health Science Center Fort Worth, TX

## Yuliya Yasinskaya, MD

Lead Medical Officer DAI FDA/CDER/OND/OID Silver Spring, MD

# **Disclosures**

**Jürgen Bulitta** received funding from NIH and FDA. Has performed consultant services for MicuRx.

**Cara Cassino** is a full time employee of ContraFect Corporation.

**Binh Diep** received research funding from NIH/NIAID, US Food and Drug Administration, Department of Defense DARPA, CARB-X, as well as Achaogen, Arsanis, AstraZeneca/MedImmune, Roche/Genentech, Integrated Biotherapeutics, Merck/Cubist, and Pfizer.

Jennifer Hoover is a full-time employee and shareholder of GlaxoSmithKline Pharmaceuticals.

**William Hope** holds or has recently held research grants with F2G, Astellas Pharma, Spero Therapeutics, Antabio, Allecra, Bugworks, and NAEJA-RGM. He holds awards from the Medical Research Council, National Institute of Health Research, FDA and the European Commission. William Hope has received personal fees in his capacity as a consultant for F2G, Amplyx, Ausperix, Spero Therapeutics, VenatoRx, Pfizer and BLC/TAZ.

**Matthew Lawrenz** is a full time employee of the University of Louisville. He receives funding support from NIH and FDA.

**Alexander Lepak** currently receives grant funding from NIH, Merck & Co., Inc, and MicuRx Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

**Brian Luna** owns equity in ExBaq.

**Lynn Miesel** is an employee of Eurofins Scientific.

**Eric Nuermberger** has no disclosures

**Brad Spellberg** has received consulting fees from Merck, Shionogi, Acurx, and Klaris, and owned equity in BioAIM, ExBaq, Mycomed, and Motif in the past year.

**Achim Wach** is a full time employee of Polyphor Ltd. He is also a shareholder of the company

Thomas Walsh has received grants for experimental and clinical antimicrobial pharmacology and therapeutics to his institution from Allergan, Amplyx, Astellas, Lediant, Medicines Company, Merck, Scynexis, and Tetraphase and has served as consultant to Amplyx, Astellas, Allergan, ContraFect, Gilead, Lediant, Medicines Company, Merck, Methylgene, Pfizer, and Scynexis.

William Weiss is a full time employee of the UNT System College of Pharmacy, a consultant for Aptorum Therapeutics and has performed sponsor funded research for ABAC Therapeutics, Achaogen, Achillion, Adenium, Affinium, Agile, Akthelia, Alcon, AmpliPhi, Amplyx, Anacor, Appili, Arietis, Arrevus, Astra Zeneca, AtoxBio, Aurasense, Auspherix, AyuVis, AzuRx, Basilea, Biolytix, BioPharmaTi, Biota, Bisortia, Biosynexus, Bioversys, Bioxiness, Cantab, Cartiledge Growth, Case Western, Cidara, Contrafect, Cubist, CUBRC, Curza, DaVolterra, DeNovaMed, DuoPhos, Entasis, eTherapeutics, Exarca, Facile Therapeutics, FCCDC, Fedora, FOB synthesis, Forge Therapeutics, Gen3Immune, Genentech, Gilead, Gladius, Gradalis, Grifols, GSK, Harvard University, InhibRx, Insmed, Janssen, Kaleido, Kalyra, Lakewood Amedex, Lead Therapeutics, LegoChem, LipoMedics, Lily Pharmaceuticals, Locus Biosciences, Macrolide Pharma, Matinas, Matrivax, MedImmune, Melinta, Merck, Merlion, Micreos, Microbion, Mpex, Mutabilis, Nabiva, National Institute of Biotechnology Negev, NCSU, Nimbus, Novabiotics, Novacta, Novartis, Novexel, Novostar, Novozymes, Octagon, Omm Scientific, OncoNano, Oragenics, Ordway, Peptilogics, Pharmaxis, Polymedix, Polyphor, Prolysis, Purdue University, Reata, RemPex, RQx Pharmaceuticals, Secretory IgA, Seres Therapeutics, Spero Therapeutics, Stanford School of Medicine, St. Judes, Summit, Synermore, Global TB Alliance, Techulon, TenNor, Tetraphase, Thar, Theravance, Trius, UCSF, UNMC, University of Bern, Venatorx, Ventria, Vical, VicLink, Visterra, Wockhardt, Zavante, ZSPharma