U.S. flag An official website of the United States government
  1. Home
  2. Animal & Veterinary
  3. Resources for You
  4. Animal Health Literacy
  5. Bangladesh Agricultural University, Faculty of Veterinary Science
  1. Animal Health Literacy

Bangladesh Agricultural University, Faculty of Veterinary Science

Mymensingh, People’s Republic of Bangladesh

Flag of Bangladesh

  • Bangladesh Agricultural University (BAU) was established on August 18, 1961. The College of Veterinary Science and Animal Husbandry at Mymensingh formed the core of the new university.
  • Today, BAU has 43 teaching departments under six faculties. The school has more than 6,000 students and 560 teachers.
  • The Faculty of Veterinary Science has eight departments and offers three degree programs: Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM), Master of Science (MS), and doctorate (PhD). The DVM program lasts 5 years. As of December 2012, more than 3,000 veterinarians have graduated from the Faculty of Veterinary Science. 
  • BAU is located 120 kilometers (about 75 miles) north of Dhaka, Bangladesh’s capital city. The campus covers about 1,200 acres in a rural setting.
  • Mymensingh is on the Brahmaputra, one of Asia’s major rivers. While most rivers on the Indian subcontinent have female names, Brahmaputra has a rare male name meaning “son of Brahma” in Sanskrit (“putra” means “son”). Mymensingh is known for its educational institutions, including BAU.

Map of Bangladesh