U.S. flag An official website of the United States government
  1. Home
  2. About FDA
  3. FDA Organization
  4. Office of Regulatory Affairs
  5. ORA Program Areas
  6. Office of Human and Animal Food Operations
  7. Resources for Human and Animal Food Producers Affected by Flooding
  1. Office of Human and Animal Food Operations

Resources for Human and Animal Food Producers Affected by Flooding

Federal and state resources are available for human and animal food producers who may be harvesting, mixing, storing, or distributing grains and other foods after experiencing a severe or inclement weather event. The FDA reminds producers that crops harvested from flooded fields are often unacceptable for consumption because of contamination. Flood waters, which are different from pooled rainwater, may contain sewage, pathogenic organisms, pesticides, chemical wastes, or other toxic substances.  

Mold growth also is a serious concern for flood impacted crops intended for use in animal food. Some types of mold produce mycotoxins, which is a toxic substance that can cause illness and death when consumed by animals and people.  

Sometimes, crops that have been harvested and then subsequently deemed unsuitable for human use can be salvaged for animal food. The FDA will work with producers to consider requests to recondition an adulterated crop into animal food on a case-by-case basis.  

FDA’s compliance policy guide (CPG 675.200) provides a step-by-step process for reconditioning requests. Those requests should be directed to the following individuals in the relevant FDA field office: 

ORA Emergency Response Coordinators

District State(s)/Territories Covered ERC Work Phone Cell Phone Email Address(es)
ATL GA, NC, SC Huggins, Wilbur 404-253-2235 404-626-5586 wilbur.huggins@fda.hhs.gov
oraatlerc@fda.hhs.gov
BLT DC, MD, VA, WV Moore, Valeria  410-779-5464 240-517-2029 valeria.moore@fda.hhs.gov
CHI IL Cooper, Joseph 312-596-4252 312-218-9509 joseph.cooper@fda.hhs.gov
ORAHAFE6ERC@fda.hhs.gov
CIN OH, KY Smith, Holly   502-425-0069 x1011 513-262-6178 holly.smith@fda.hhs.gov
DAL TX, AR, OK Hunt, Travis 214-253-5329 740-381-3622 travis.hunt@fda.hhs.gov
DEN AZ, CO, NM, UT, WY Kozler, Matthew 303-236-9668 303-409-9272 matthew.kozler@fda.hhs.gov
ORADENERC@fda.hhs.gov
DET MI, IN Turner, Marlon  313-393-8293 240-672-5247 marlon.turner@fda.hhs.gov
ORAHAFE6ERC@fda.hhs.gov
FLA FL Venerio, Nelson 407-475-4729 407-415-8415 nelson.venerio@fda.hhs.gov
KAN KS, IA, NE, MO Dugan, Erin  913-495-5110 913-424-5231 erin.dugan@fda.hhs.gov
orakansituationalawareness@fda.hhs.gov
LOS So. CA, (COOP only-AZ RP) Francisco, Herminio 949-608-3575 949-812-9620 herminio.francisco@fda.hhs.gov
oraloserc@fda.hhs.gov
MIN MN, ND, SD, WI Elassar, Sana 612-758-7156 952-457-1569 sana.elassar@fda.hhs.gov
ORAMINERC@fda.hhs.gov
NOL AL, LA, MS, TN Bertling, Lindsay 615-438-2100 615-438-2100 lindsay.bertling@fda.hhs.gov
NWE CT, NH, MA, ME, RI, VT Langello, Kimberly 401-528-5500 x108 781-258-3796 kimberly.langello@fda.hhs.gov
NWJ NJ Muszynski, William 856-290-4020 732-666-2592 william.muszynski@fda.hhs.gov
NY NY McGorty, Milan 914-682-2826 x34 Pending milan.mcgorty@fda.hhs.gov
PHI PA, DE Bradley Benasutti 717-541-9924 x23 240-994-7043 Bradley.Benasutti@fda.hhs.gov
ORAPHIERC@fda.hhs.gov
SAN N. CA, NV, HI, Guam, Am. Samoa, CNMI Yuen, Nicole 209-954-0171 x102 510-455-1331 nicole.yuen@fda.hhs.gov
orahafwest5erc@fda.hhs.gov
SAN N. CA, NV, HI, Guam, Am. Samoa, CNMI Galvez, Steven 559-445-1120 510-512-0364 steven.galvez@fda.hhs.gov
orahafwest5erc@fda.hhs.gov
SEA AK, ID, MT, OR, WA Volkman, Kelsey 425-302-0347 425-236-0694 kelsey.volkman@fda.hhs.gov

oraseaerc@fda.hhs.gov
SJN PR & USVI Aponte, Marianela 787-729-8501 787-969-6477 marianela.aponte@fda.hhs.gov

For more information, see Crops Harvested from Flooded Fields Intended for Animal Food: Questions and Answers

We encourage growers to work with state regulators and local FDA offices to assess their unique situations and to take into consideration all possible types and routes of contamination from flood waters in determining whether a particular crop is adulterated.

Each state’s Department of Agriculture may have state-specific requirements regarding any attempt to clean, process, test, and sell/use crops in animal food. The FDA will continue working with the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), state partners, trade, and stakeholder associations to answer broader questions that may arise about using flood-affected crops for animal food. 

 
Back to Top