• Decrease font size
  • Return font size to normal
  • Increase font size
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

News & Events

  • Print
  • Share
  • E-mail

Public Calendar: May 16-20, 2011

This public calendar is issued by the Food and Drug Administration. It lists significant meetings held by designated FDA policy makers with persons outside the executive branch of the Federal Government.

May 16-20, 2011
FDA Official and TitleDateLocationOther FDA ParticipantsNon-FDA ParticipantsSubject
Margaret A. Hamburg, M.D., Commissioner of Food and Drugs5/17/11–5/18/11Big Sky, MTMary Lou Valdez, Sherry McGarry, Julie Moss, Anna Shanklin, Sufian Al KhaldiSeveral representatives from APEC economiesAsia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Food Safety Cooperation Forum
John M. Taylor, III, J.D., Acting Principal Deputy Commissioner of Food and Drugs5/17/11San Juan, Puerto RicoDara Corrigan, Jeanne Ireland, several staff from Puerto Rico District OfficeCongressman Darrell E. Issa and several staffersDistrict and Lab Visit
Dara A. Corrigan, Associate Commissioner for Regulatory Affairs5/16/11-5/20/11N/AN/AN/ANo Significant Meetings
Lawrence Deyton, M.S.P.H., M.D., Director, Center for Tobacco Products5/16/11-5/20/11N/AN/AN/ANo Significant Meetings
David Dorsey, J.D., Acting Deputy Commissioner for Policy, Planning, and Budget5/16/11-5/20/11N/AN/AN/ANo Significant Meetings
Bernadette Dunham, D.V.M., Ph.D., Director, Center for Veterinary Medicine5/18/11TeleconferenceWilliam Flynn, Jeffrey Ward, Phil Kijak, Nadine Steinberg, Nathan Doty, Cathy Beck, Dave White, Tong Zhou, Sharon NatanblutSteve Sutherland, David Smith, Heidi Chen, Scott Brown, Cathy Knupp, Greg Andrews, Martin Forester (Pfizer Animal Health)Drug Approval Process
Bernadette Dunham, D.V.M., Ph.D., Director, Center for Veterinary Medicine5/19/11Washington, DCJoanna HoyleSeveral representatives from the Animal Health InstituteAnimal Health Institute, Government Communications Committee Meeting
Jesse Goodman, M.D., M.P.H., Chief Scientist and Deputy Commissioner for Science and Public Health5/16/11-5/20/11N/AN/AN/ANo Significant Meetings
Michael M. Landa, Acting Director, Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition5/16/11-5/20/11N/AN/AN/ANo Significant Meetings
Caroline Lewis, Acting Deputy Commissioner for Administration5/16/11-5/20/11N/AN/AN/ANo Significant Meetings
Murray M. Lumpkin, M.D., Deputy Commissioner for International Programs5/18/11New York, NYN/AMembers of the Commission, government, and academiaPresentation on Implementing Federal Standards – International Efforts at the Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues
Karen Midthun, M.D.,  Director, Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research5/20/11Baltimore, MDN/AVarious participants from industry, government, and academiaInternational Alliance For Biological Standardization Adventitious Agents Risk Assessment
Meghan Scott, Acting Associate Commissioner for External Affairs5/16/11-5/20/11N/AN/AN/ANo Significant Meetings
Jeffrey Shuren, M.D., J.D., Director, Center for Devices and Radiological Health5/17/11Silver Spring, MDSeveral CDRH Staff MembersShlomo Raz, Lana Keeton (UCLA School of Medicine)Medical Devices
William Slikker, Jr., Ph.D., Director, National Center for Toxicological Research5/19/11Iselin, NJN/AVarious participants from industry, government, and academiaPresentation at the 30th Anniversary Meeting of the Mid-Atlantic Society of Toxicology
Michael R. Taylor, J.D., Deputy Commissioner for Foods, Office of Foods5/17/11Silver Spring, MDDon Kraemer, Roberta Wagner, Sharon Natanblut, Jenny Scott, Dan McChesney, Dave Elder, Tracey Forfa, Caitlin BoonErik Lieberman (Food Marketing Institute); Reed Rubinstein (U.S. Chamber of Commerce); Bob Hirst (International Bottled Water Association); David Ailor (National Oilseed Processors Association); John Allan (American Frozen Food Institute); Joe Levitt (Hogan Lovells US, LLP); Julia Bellinger (American Spice Trade Association); Randall Gordon (National Grain and Feed Association)Food Safety
Michael R. Taylor, J.D., Deputy Commissioner for Foods, Office of Foods5/19/11Silver Spring, MDMichael Landa, Jessica Leighton, Claudine Kavanaugh, Sharon Natanblut, Vinnie DeJesus, Jordan Lin, Alan Levy, Jeremiah Fasano, Caitlin BoonTres Bailey, Andrea Thomas (Walmart)Nutrition
Ralph Tyler, J.D., Chief Counsel5/19/11Silver Spring, MDJoy Dawson, Nicole Smith, Wendy Vicente, Anthony WatsonCharles Brown, Sylvia Dove, Freya Koss (Consumers for Dental Choice)Dental Amalgams
Jill Hartzler Warner, J.D., Acting Associate Commissioner for Special Medical Programs5/16/11-5/20/11N/AN/AN/ANo Significant Meetings
Janet Woodcock, M.D., Director, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research5/19/11Washington, DCN/ADavid Borenstein, Julie Anderson (American College of Rheumatology)American College of Rheumatology Board of Directors Meeting