• Decrease font size
  • Return font size to normal
  • Increase font size
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

News & Events

  • Print
  • Share
  • E-mail

Public Calendar: June 8 - 12, 2009

This public calendar is issued by the Food and Drug Administration. It lists significant meetings held by designated FDA policy makers with persons outside the executive branch of the Federal Government.


June 8 - 12, 2009
FDA Official and TitleDateLocationOther FDA ParticipantsNon-FDA ParticipantsSubject
Margaret Hamburg, Commissioner, Food and Drugs6/8/2009Silver Spring, MDJoshua Sharfstein, John Jenkins, Theresa Toigo, James Valentine, Mike Chappell, Julie Zawisza, Jeff O’NeillKelly Haenlein (American Academy of Dermatology), Susan Hildebrandt (American Academy of Family Physicians), Marie-Michèle Léger (American Academy of Physician Assistants), Brad Conway (American College of Gastroenterology), Michael D. Maves (American Medical Association), Lisa Summers (American Nurses Association), Angela Jeansonne (American Osteopathic Association), Chip Amoe (American Society of Anesthesiologists), Allen Lichter (American Society of Clinical Oncology), Elena Rios (National Hispanic Medical Association), Mohammad Akhter (National Medical Association), Holly Whelan (The Endocrine Society), Sharon Swan (American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics), Judi Lund Person (The National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization), Neil Kirschner (American College of Physicians)Listening Session-with Drug and Biologic Health Professional Organizations
Margaret Hamburg, Commissioner, Food and Drugs6/10/2009Silver Spring, MDJoshua Sharfstein, Theresa Toigo, Heidi Marchand, Ilisa Bernstein, Karen Weiss, Julie Zawisza, Lorrie McNeil, Susan Winckler, Jeff O’NeillJudith Cahill (Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy), Will Lang (American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy), Edwin Webb (American College of Clinical Pharmacy), Thomas Menighan (American Pharmacists Association), Thomas Clark (American Society of Consultant Pharmacists), Kasey Thompson (American Society of Health-System Pharmacists), Rebecca Snead (National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations), John Coster (National Community Pharmacists Association), Carmen Catizone (National Association of Boards of PharmacyListening Session with Professional Pharmacy Organizations
Margaret Hamburg, Commissioner, Food and Drug6/12/2009Washington, DCJoshua Sharfstein, Theresa Toigo, James Valentine, Jeff O’Neill, Anna WojasLynda Dee (AIDS Treatment Activists Coalition), Daniel Perry (Alliance for Aging Research), Steve Gibson (ALS Association), Katie Murray (American Diabetes Association), Micke Brown (American Pain Foundation),  Amy Melnick (Arthritis Foundation), Joe Arite (C3: Colorectal Cancer Coalition), Nancy Norton (Digestive Disease National Coalition), Angela Ostrom (Epilepsy Foundation of America), Ellen Sigal (Friends of Cancer Research), Musa Mayer (Independent Breast Cancer Advocate), Mark Gorman (National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship), Ellen Riker (National Hemophilia Foundation), Diane Dorman (National Organization for Rare Disorders), Marie Blessinger (ZERO-The Project to End Prostate Cancer)Listening Session with Patient Advocacy Organizations
Margaret Hamburg, Commissioner, Food and Drugs6/12/2009Washington, DCKathleen Quinnn/aSpeech at the Annual Meeting of the Endocrine Society
Joshua Sharfstein, Principal Deputy Commissioner of Food and Drugs6/9/2009Washington, DCN/ASec. Tom Vilsack (USDA); Sen. Blanche Lincoln; Rep. Eric Cantor; Rep. Peter Welch; Members of Food Marketing Institute, National Grocers Assoc, Food Industry Assoc. ExecutivesFood Safety
Jesse Goodman, Chief Scientist and Acting Deputy Commissioner6/8/09 through 6/12/09N/AN/AN/ANo significant meetings
John Dyer, Deputy Commissioner for Operations and Chief Operating Officer6/8/09 through 6/12/09N/AN/AN/ANo significant meetings
Murray Lumpkin, Deputy Commissioner for International and Special Programs6/9/2009Chicago, ILN/AN/ASpeeches: Association of Food & Drug Officials Annual Educational Conference
Randall Lutter, Deputy Commissioner for Policy6/8/09 through 6/12/09N/AN/AN/ANo significant meetings
Janet Woodcock, Director, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research6/11/09The University of North CarolinaN/APaul B. Watkins (UNC)Opening ceremony for the Hamner-UNC Center for Drug Saftey Sciences
Michael Chappell, Acting Associate Commissioner, Office of Regulatory Affairs6/ 8-12/09N/AN/AN/ANo Significant Meetings
Karen Midthun, Acting Director, Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research6/8-12/09N/AN/AN/ANo significant meetings
Daniel Schultz, Director, Center for Devices and Radiological Health6/8-12/09Rockville, MDKate Cook, Tom Gross, Joy Sanuels-Reid; Jonathan Sackner-Bernstein; Marilyn Flack; Stephen RhodesRobert Campbell (Childrens Hospital of Philadelphia)Medical device issues
Stephen Sundlof, Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition6/12/09Silver Spring, MDJoshua Sharfstein, Michael  Landa, Jennifer Thomas, Deborah Biswas, Louisa Nickerson, Judith Kraus, Felicia Billingslea, Carol Fedorchak, Susan Crockett, Janice Martin, Richard Allendorf, Peter Erickson, Eric Gugger (General Mills), Eugene Lambert, Steve Rosenbaum (Covington & Burlong, LLP)    Cheerios Health Claim Label
Bernadette Dunham, Director, Center for Veterinary Medicine6/4/09TeleconferenceMerton Smith, Steve Vaughn, Brandi RobinsonDavid MacKay, Kornelia Grein, Barbara Cyrus, Jordi Torren (European Medicines Agency)Veterinary Drug Approval process.
Bernadette Dunham, Director, Center for Veterinary Medicine6/11/09TeleconferenceSteve Vaughn, Brandi RobinsonAnnamarie Bruno (Food and Agriculture Organization)Codex Committee on Residues of Veterinary Drugs in Foods Discussion
William Slikker, Director, National Center for Toxicological Research6/11/09Research Triangle Park, NCDonna Mendrick, Rick BegerN/AThird Inter-Agency Computational Toxicology Colloquium
William Slikker, Director, National Center for Toxicological Research6/12/09Research Triangle Park, NCN/AN/ATox21 Meeting (toxicology in the 21st century) - Tripartite collaboration of EPA, NTP/NIEHS, and National Human Genome Research Institute
Michael M. Landa, Acting Chief Counsel6/8/09 through 6/12/09N/AN/AN/ANo significant meetings