Commodity Specific Food Safety Guidelines for the Production, Harvest, Post-Harvest, and Processing Unit Operations of Fresh Culinary Herbs

January 24, 2013

FDA is posting this industry information as a service to industry, consumers, the media, and other interested parties.

Fresh Culinary Herbs

The document is available in (PDF 2.01MB).

Contributors and Reviewers

Development of the Commodity Specific Food Safety Guidelines for the Production, Harvest, Post-Harvest, and Processing Unit Operations of Herbs was made possible by the dedicated contribution of the following individuals:

Industry and academic members (and their affiliation during the guidance development process):

  • Susan Ajeska, NewStar Fresh Foods, LLC
  • Rob Atwill, Ph.D., University of California, Davis
  • Arin Bauer, Texas AgriLife Extension Service
  • Roger Becker, Gold Coast Packing
  • Willette M. Crawford, Ph.D., MPH, Chiquita
  • Jessica Cueto, Pablos Produce
  • Mayra Cuevas, Harvest Sensations
  • Barry Eisenberg, Ph.D., Arizona Leafy Greens Products
  • Shipper Marketing Agreement
  • Thea Eubanks, NewStar Fresh Foods, LLC
  • Daniel Garcia, Ippolito International
  • Laura Giudici Mills, Metz Fresh, LLC Consultant
  • Elvia Gonzales, Frontera Produce
  • Ashley Gregory, Texas AgriLife Extension Service
  • Linda Harris, Ph.D., University of California, Davis
  • Johnna Hepner, Produce Marketing Association
  • Richard Hill, J&D Produce Inc.
  • Michele Jay-Russell, DVM, Ph.D., University of California, Davis
  • Jason Kawata, Taylor Farms
  • Betsy Klein, Frontera Produce
  • Wesley Kline, Ph.D., Rutgers Cooperative
  • Extension of Cumberland County
  • Sharan Lanini, Chiquita Fresh Express
  • Afreen Malik, Ocean Mist
  • Bob Martin, Rio Farms
  • Brendan Miele, Jacobs Farm/Del Cabo Inc.
  • Tim Minami, Muranaka Farm
  • Miguel Morales, GN Productores Agrícolas s. de r.l. de c.v.,
  • Dave Murphy, Boskovich Farms
  • Jessie Palacios, Talley Farms
  • Cosme Pina, Taylor Farms
  • Jess Quinlan, Sabor Farms
  • Colby Rubbo, Costa Farms
  • Mary Sanburn, Harvest Sensations
  • Mike Scarcella, Ippolito International
  • Trevor Suslow, Ph.D., University of California, Davis
  • Abby Taylor-Silva, Grower-Shipper Association
  • Francisco Valdes, Taylor Farms
  • Rick VanVranken, Rutgers Cooperative Extension, NJ
  • Mike Villaneva, California Leafy Green Products Handler
  • Marketing Agreement
  • Kami Weddle, Rousseau Farming Company

Governmental agency members:

Cecilia Crowley, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Kathleen Staley, Agricultural Marketing Service, U.S. United States Department of Agriculture

Technical review conducted by:

Larry Beuchat, Ph.D., University of Georgia

Gale Prince, Sage Food Safety Consultants

Robert Whitaker, Ph.D., Produce Marketing Association

Coordinated under the leadership of:

Hank Giclas, Western Growers

Sonia Salas, Western Growers

Susan Leaman, Intertox, Inc.

Page Last Updated: 07/06/2015
Note: If you need help accessing information in different file formats, see Instructions for Downloading Viewers and Players.
Language Assistance Available: Español | 繁體中文 | Tiếng Việt | 한국어 | Tagalog | Русский | العربية | Kreyòl Ayisyen | Français | Polski | Português | Italiano | Deutsch | 日本語 | فارسی | English