Archived Content

The content on this page is provided for reference purposes only. This content has not been altered or updated since it was archived.

Animal & Veterinary

University of Zagreb, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

Zagreb, Croatia

Flag of Croatia

  • The beginnings of the University of Zagrebdisclaimer icon (Sveučilište u Zagrebu) date to September 1669 when Emperor and King Leopold I Habsburg issued a decree granting the status and privileges of a university to the Jesuit Academy of the Royal Free City of Zagreb.
  • The University of Zagreb is the biggest and oldest university in the Republic of Croatia as well as in southeastern Europe. Today, over 50,000 students attend the university. It is strongly research-oriented, contributing over 50 percent of the total research output of Croatia.
  • The School of Veterinary Medicine (Veterinarska visoka škola) was founded as a four-year college in 1919. In December 1924, it was renamed the Faculty of Veterinary Medicinedisclaimer icon (Veterinarski fakultet) and became part of the University of Zagreb. It remains the only veterinary school in Croatia.
  • Veterinary studies last for six years (12 semesters). Upon completion, students are awarded the degree of Doktor Veterinarske Medicine (Doctor of Veterinary Medicine, or DVM).
  • Three current Center for Veterinary Medicine employees are alumni – Sanja Modric, DVM, PhD; Tomislav Modric, DVM, PhD; and Dragan Momcilovic, DVM, PhD, DACT.1

Main Square at Zegreb, Croatia
Photo Courtesy of Dr. Sanja Modric

1 Diplomate of the American College of Theriogenologists

Page Last Updated: 01/15/2015
Note: If you need help accessing information in different file formats, see Instructions for Downloading Viewers and Players.
Language Assistance Available: Español | 繁體中文 | Tiếng Việt | 한국어 | Tagalog | Русский | العربية | Kreyòl Ayisyen | Français | Polski | Português | Italiano | Deutsch | 日本語 | فارسی | English