About FDA

Office of Antimicrobial Products (OAP)


The Office of Antimicrobial Products is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring safe and effective drugs are available to the U.S. population for antimicrobials products (including antibacterial, antimycobacterial, antifungal, antiviral, and antiparasitic products), ophthalmology products, and products for the prevention of rejection in solid organ transplant recipients.

Immediate Office

Director: Edward M. Cox, M.D., MPH
Deputy Director: John Farley, M.D., MPH
Associate Director for Regulatory Affairs: Katherine Schuman
Associate Director for Research: Thushi Amini, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Regulatory Science: Sunita Shukla, Ph.D. (acting)

Division of Anti-Infective Products (DAIP)

Director: Sumathi Nambiar, M.D., M.P.H.
Deputy Director: Dmitri Iarikov, M.D., Ph.D.

Division of Antiviral Products (DAVP)

Director: Debra Birnkrant, M.D.
Deputy Director: Jeffery Murray, M.D., M.P.H

Division of Transplant and Ophthalmology Products (DTOP)

Director: Renata Albrecht, M.D
Deputy Director: Wiley Chambers, M.D.

OAP Research Activities

Overview of research needs, requests for information (RFIs), public workshops/meetings, opportunities for collaboration, notable guidances related to regulatory science, externally awarded research studies, and other important research and regulatory science activities.

Mailing Address:

Food and Drug Administration
Center for Drug Evaluation and Research
Office of Antimicrobial Products
10903 New Hampshire Avenue
Silver Spring, MD 20993
Phone: (301) 796-1300
Fax: (301) 796-9887

Page Last Updated: 06/27/2017
Note: If you need help accessing information in different file formats, see Instructions for Downloading Viewers and Players.
Language Assistance Available: Español | 繁體中文 | Tiếng Việt | 한국어 | Tagalog | Русский | العربية | Kreyòl Ayisyen | Français | Polski | Português | Italiano | Deutsch | 日本語 | فارسی | English