2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC83
Submitter : Mr. Herman Cranman Date & Time: 08/19/2005 08:08:24
Organization : Mr. Herman Cranman
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
GENERAL
GENERAL
"Gluten free" should mean the product contains no gluten derived from wheat. barley, rye, or oats This requirement should also apply to unidentified ingredients like "natural flavors", food colors, etc.

I identify gluten free food from its lable when clearly marked, otherwise I call the manufacturor. My time spent identifying GF foods is approximately 50% of the time I shop for food.

Approximately 1 - 2% of foods I buy are clearly marked "GF". The most common food that is marked GF are cereals & baked goods.

I can only tolerate "GF" food. A "GF" marking on the lable would always be my choice between two products.