2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC802
Submitter : Mrs. Karen Messersmith Date & Time: 09/13/2005 07:09:25
Organization : Mrs. Karen Messersmith
Category : Food Industry
Issue Areas/Comments
GENERAL
GENERAL
What Should Gluten Free Mean on Labels? - It should mean the food product does not contain any wheat, rye, barley or oats.
How Do I Identify Foods that Contain Gluten -I spend a great deal of time reviewing labels (and it is especially difficult at restaurants where there are no ingredient lists). I avoid wheat, rye, barley, oats, modified food starch (when it doesn't specify corn vs.wheat), and vinegar.
What percentage of foods and which types purchased are marked gluten free - less than 10% of the foods we currently purchase are labeled gluten free. Also, these products typically come from special order companies, health food stores, or the health food section of our local grocery.
Does gluten-free printed on a product label influence my decision to purchase products having the same ingredients? To what extent? - Yes, I am greatly influenced by this type of labeling. My son can eat only gluten free foods, so we are always carefully reading labels. If an item is labeled gluten free, I feel confident in purchasing it for our family to eat.