2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC792
Submitter : Mrs. Alicia Wood Date & Time: 09/13/2005 06:09:15
Organization : Mrs. Alicia Wood
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
GENERAL
GENERAL
'Gluten-free' on a label should mean that the item contains no wheat, barley, rye, oats, spelt, kamut, triticale, or eincorn and has been produced in a gluten-free facility. Apparently, there are one or two sources of gluten-free oats in the world but most oats are rolled on rollers that have been coated w/wheat flour, so oats might need to be included as well. My family and I all have celiac disease so this is very important for us. Currently, I identify foods that do not contain gluten in 3 ways. First of all, many foods simply don't contain gluten, such as an apple. This would not need to be labeled. Secondly, I look for a gluten-free label. Third of all, I always read ingredients labels. If there is an ingredient on the label that might contain gluten, such as 'spices', I call the company and ask specifics from customer service. This is excruciatingly time- consuming. I spend significant time 'googling' companies, calling 800 numbers, calling stores, for COMPLETE ingredients listing on not only food items but supplements, OTCs, medications and body care products. I buy only gluten-free of all the above-mentioned items. I have always trusted a gluten-free label. Have I done right to do so? The idea of labeling gluten-free items w/an A,B and C level does sound helpful, my only concern would be that companies would get lax and not strive for an A level. I am very pleased that the FDA is giving attention to this issue and seeking feedback from consumers on same. This makes me feel hopeful and listened to. Thank you.