2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC614
Submitter : Mrs. Lisa Marten Date & Time: 09/12/2005 06:09:52
Organization : Mrs. Lisa Marten
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
GENERAL
GENERAL
As a celiac I strongly wish to see the term 'gluten-free' on food labels.

1)'Gluten-free' should indicate that the product contains no wheat, rye, barley, oats, millet, or their derivatives. Foods contaminated with any of these items will cause a celiac to have a serious reaction.

2)It is a very tedious and time consuming process to read the current ingredient labels and then be uncertain if items such as 'modified food starch' or 'caramel coloring' are made from a gluten containing grain or not.

3) Few, if any regular food items, carry a distinct indication as to the gluten content. The few items which are marked as 'Gluten-Free' are mostly found in the health food section.

4)I never read the full ingredient list if the product carries a 'gluten-free' label. However, if two products contain identical ingredients I will always select the product which bears a 'gluten-free' label.