2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC52
Submitter : Dr. Rebecca Herman Date & Time: 08/15/2005 05:08:49
Organization : Dr. Rebecca Herman
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
GENERAL
GENERAL
"Gluten-free" on a food label should mean contaning no wheat, oats, rye or barley or any by-products of these grains.
I identify foods that do not contain gluten by reading food labels. I spend 20 minutes per store-vist reading food labels.
I purchase approximately 20% of my foods which are labeled "gluten-free", including prepared foods, frozen meals, condiments, and sauces.
I am much more likely to purchase foods marked "gluten-free", even if they contain the same ingredients as comparable products.