2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC51
Submitter : Ms. Daniela Herman Date & Time: 08/15/2005 05:08:40
Organization : Celiac Sprue Association
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
GENERAL
GENERAL
"Gluten-free" on a food label should mean containing no wheat, oats, rye, or barley, with no cross-contamination from these grains.
We identify foods that do not contain gluten by checking the label of every item we buy. We spend 15 minutes per store-visit reading labels.
Approximately 15% of foods purchased are marked "gluten-free", but these are often only to be found at expensive specialty stores.
"Gluten-free" printed on a product label positively influences our decision to buy a product, and we are more likely to buy a product with this marking, even if other products contain the same ingredients.