2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC271
Submitter : Mr. marvin clegg Date & Time: 08/29/2005 12:08:07
Organization : Mr. marvin clegg
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
GENERAL
GENERAL
Answering the questions posed: Gluten-free should mean that any levels of wheat, oats, barley or their derivatives are at a level below that acceptable by the medical community's consensus for celiac patients. We identify GF foods by the individual ingredients--even if the present labels say GF, because GF is not standardized label yet. It takes a substantial amount of time checking labels, because some products that are 'safe' one year, like a corn flakes, suddenly add malt flavoring or similar, without warning. It doubles or triples shopping time. At present, the label "GF" helps but does not dictate that it really is safe for celiac patients... if two items in store appeared identical but one is marked "GF" I would FAVOR the latter. At present, only 1% of foods might be marked "GF," even if they DO qualify. I would favor a two part label: GF for NO traces and Trace Glutens label for those having more (expl. what amount) and then, of course, everything else would be assumed to contain glutens. Vendors MUST define whether modified food starch is CORN starch or wheat starch or WHAT? Also, we should not have to ASSUME that American vinegar is safe, but others might not be, or that some CORN FLAKES are not really all corn, or that OATMEAL is from the same mill that processes wheat and so forth.