2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC21
Submitter : Mrs. lorrie kelley Date & Time: 08/08/2005 04:08:58
Organization : Mrs. lorrie kelley
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
GENERAL
GENERAL
Docket # 2005N-0279

My daughter was recently diagnosed with Celiac Disease. (June 2, 2005) She is only 6 yrs old. There is SO much mixed info about products that are "Gluten Free". Vinegar, Modified Food starch, Etc. Many companies will tell you it will be "labeled" if it is a derivative of wheat. Not Rye, Barley or oats. As a parent new to this, I find myself, my family and friends all buying only products that state that they are "Gluten Free". It would be so much easier if I could turn a package over and SEE that it was Gluten Free, without reading EVERY ingredient, second guessing myself and finally running my cell phone bill up by calling the company from the store before I buy it!!! And being told to "just read the ingredients!!" They label wheat, but not the others!

Thanks you for listening, and if any of you have EVER had to feed a Celiac...you would want this passed