2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC178
Submitter : Mr. Bernard Pelletier Date & Time: 08/25/2005 11:08:38
Organization : Individual
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
GENERAL
GENERAL
Gluten free should mean no wheat, oats, barley, or rye. If there is a trace possibility that should be disclosed. Ingredients such as starch, coloring, filler should list their source (e.g. if starch is wheat based ...). If a manufacturer performed a trace test that would be appreciated as well.

To identify gluten in foods I read labels and consult reference books put out by the Celiac Sprue Association. It is a very timeconsuming process. Perhaps and hour a week spent reading labels.

Gluten free markers are appearing on foods with increasing prevalence but it is still rare - perhaps 5 % of foods are labelled Gluten Free.

Gluten free makes me want to purchase a product. It is such a RELIEF to know that there is no guess work. I'd purchase a gluten free product (so labelled) even if it was a little more expensive .