|2005N-0279||Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting|
|FDA Comment Number :||EC174|
|Submitter :||Ms. Sharon Forge||Date & Time:||08/24/2005 05:08:19|
|Organization :||Ms. Sharon Forge|
|Category :||Individual Consumer|
| In answer to the 5 questions to help define "gluten-free" labeling I submit the following. Please take these into consideration.
1. "Gleten-free" should mean just that-NO wheats, oats, rye or barley or derivative thereof. Why? Because we need to depend on the label to know that what we are consuming is TOTALLY safe.
2. I identify the food that do not contain gleten by reading the labels and hoping that everything is listed-there are many ingredients that are chemically produced that we really have no way of knowing what they are. Often you're tempted to take a product and hope for the best which is certainly not healthy. I spend twice as much time shipping as I used too.
3. The percentage of food that I purchase that is hopefully gluten-free is at least 50%. Any product that is not fresh(produce-fruit, etc.) should be labeled gluten-free. Gleten=free products that I purchase are mostly bread, crackers, waffles, soup, pizza, frozen dinners, pasts's rolls, cereal.
4. Absolutely!! I will always purchase "gluten-free" over any other product regardless of cost or even taste. Its a matter of my health!
5. NO!! A straight gluten-free label is best to remain totally healthy. Lets make this accurate AND consumer friendly.