2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC1460
Submitter : Mrs. Amy Meininger Date & Time: 09/20/2005 06:09:01
Organization : Mrs. Amy Meininger
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
GENERAL
GENERAL
"Gluten-free" should mean that the Food ingredients do not include WBRO, and also that the product was made in a dedicated facility.

I identify foods that do not contain gluten (if the label doesn't specifically say so) by reading the ingredient list. If I have any questions about an ingredient listed, I will call the company's 800 number. Each step takes several minutes.

100% of the foods I purchase for myself that would otherwise be made from flour (breads, cakes, cookies, crackers, pasta, snacks) are labeled "gluten free." A much smaller percentage of other items (such as tomato sauce, salad dressings, yogurt, cheeses, etc.) are marked "gluten free." These are the items I figure out for myself by reading the label and/or calling the company.

"Gluten-free" printed on a product label most definately influences my decision to purchase products having the same ingredients, because it saves me time and energy (and stress) if the item is clearly labeled.

I absolutely think that having some kind of two or more level explanation for "gluten-free" would be helpful. We know that some celiac patients are far more sensitive than others, and must adhere to the strictest standards for anything they eat. Others are more tolerant of trace, or even small amounts of gluten. Therefore, for the labeling to be most helpful it should provide information for both groups.