2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC1438
Submitter : Mrs. Pamela Jaccino Date & Time: 09/20/2005 06:09:25
Organization : Celiac Support Group
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
GENERAL
GENERAL
Please continue to label food items with the "gluten free notation". It would also be helpful if the items would specify which type of starch was used when it says "modified food starch". Sometimes it takes several minutes to look at the ingredients label to see if it is something I can eat. It would be helpful if it was clearly marked on the food item. Also, items such as sauces (ex. soy sauce) should be clearly marked if it contains wheat in it. Gluten-free should mean that the item does not contain any wheat, barley, rye or oats. Even breakfast cereals which contain malt flavoring should clearly state that it is not gluten-free.