2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC1389
Submitter : Ms. Cathrine Corff Date & Time: 09/20/2005 06:09:55
Organization : Ms. Cathrine Corff
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
GENERAL
GENERAL
FDA Docket #2005N-0279

1. On any food label, gluten-free should mean that the food product should have no wheat, rye, barley, or oats in it. The product should also have never come into contact with wheat, rye, barley, or oats. It should mean this because any contact with gluten contaminates the food product and even a crumb of gluten can make someone with celiac disease sick.
2. I identify foods without gluten by reading the ingredient list on the package and, if necessary, by contacting the manufacturer. Sometimes it can take hours to identify foods.
3. Specialized foods made for celiacs are marked gluten-free and virtually always purchased at a health food store. Less than 1% of the foods we purchase mainstream are marked gluten free.
4. Absolutely! When a product is labeled gluten-free, I seldom hesitate to purchase it and feel much more confident about eating it. Also, if I call a manufacturer that has labeled a product gluten-free they tend to be very knowledgeable about celiac disease. This in turn makes me tell others all about the product and I encourage others to try the product.