2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC1308
Submitter : Mrs. Susan Clinton Date & Time: 09/20/2005 05:09:43
Organization : Mrs. Susan Clinton
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
GENERAL
GENERAL
Comments to FDA Docket #2005N-0279
1. Gluten-free should mean:
a. no wheat, rye, barley, or oats used in product
b. contents of component ingredients including oil (canola and vegetable oiils can contain wheat-germ oil); vinegar (distilled vinegar is fermented wheat); broth (often contains wheat starch); and dyes (Red 40 and Yellow 5 can include wheat; annatto coloring can include wheat) will be identified to guarantee that they do not include wheat
c. items dusted with flour to prevent sticking (e.g., dried fruit, tortillas) will be labelled


Without this level of certainty that ingredients do not contain wheat, the gluten-free label would be meaningless.
2. By reading labels and consulting the CSA products listing. I spend about 20 min-30 min per grocery shopping trip identifying gluten-free foods.
3. Approximately 15% of the foods i purchase are marked gluten-free. I am the only celiac in my family, so we do purchase regular breads, cereals, condiments, and prepared foods. I purchase gluten-free cereals, pasta, bread mixes and muffins, pizza crusts, crackers, toaster waffles, soups, and cookies.
4. I am definitely more likely to purchase foods labelled gluten-free because I am reassured that the manufacturer is aware of the problem and that I can eat the food safely without worrying that at some point in the manufacturing or packaging process (in dyes, added vitamins, coatings,etc.) glluten has been added to the product in a way that I am not aware of. Given a choice between two products with the same ingredients, I am 100% more likely to purchase the one that is labelled 'gluten-free.'