2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC1248
Submitter : Mrs. Elizabeth Doncoes Date & Time: 09/20/2005 05:09:05
Organization : Mrs. Elizabeth Doncoes
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
GENERAL
GENERAL
It would be a tremendous help to me and every other Celiac in this world if the labeling could clearing state that the product contains wheat, wheat protein, and/or gluten. It takes me forever to do my marketing because I have to read the labels very carefully and sometimes wheat isn't listed but it is in the product under another name. Unfortunately I have had several bad experiences and now I just buy foods that haven't produced any bad results for me in the past. I really don't understand why manufacturers can't use corn starch as a thickener instead of flour in their sauces and gravies, why does everythig have to contain wheat.