2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC1190
Submitter : Mr. Joseph Feldun Date & Time: 09/20/2005 05:09:21
Organization : Mr. Joseph Feldun
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
GENERAL
GENERAL
"gluten-free" should mean that the product does not contain wheat, barley, rye or oats, or any derivative from those grains. Without such a label, I, as a celiac, must go through the entire ingredient label and often have to call the manufacturer of the product. At this time I would guess that maybe 1-2% of all are marked "gluten-free." These lables appear mostly on flour substitutes, cereals, and pastas. Having "gluten-free" clearly indicated on the package is a matter of life and death for me. I cannot consume any gluten whatsoever.