2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC1128
Submitter : Mrs. Kathleen Vest Date & Time: 09/20/2005 04:09:30
Organization : Mrs. Kathleen Vest
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
GENERAL
GENERAL
The biggest issue for me is the term modified food starch not being defined, so I always have to avoid those foods unless the guide book says they are OK. Also, the vinegar issue is significant. Vinegars in a food product need to be defined as gluten free in such items such as dressings, mayonaise, and sauces. Grain vingars are used often and cannot be consumed by those with gluten intolerance--whereas apple cidar vinegar is usually safe. Vanilla in a product can also be a problem depending on the alcohol it contains.
Three levels of definitions would be OK with me since some people are less sensitive than others. I don't know if all products need to be labeled- -for example green beans are obviously gluten free. Canned tomatoes with ingredients of tomatoes and salt listed are obviously gluten free---but other tomato-based products such as ketchup and barbeque sauce need to be labeld since they can contain vinegar.
Since more and more people are being diagnosed as having gluten intolerance, mandatory labeling would be very helpful to about 2,000,000 people in our nation.