2005N-0279 Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Foods; Public Meeting
FDA Comment Number : EC1011
Submitter : Mrs. Susan Stewart Date & Time: 09/20/2005 03:09:45
Organization : Mrs. Susan Stewart
Category : Individual Consumer
Issue Areas/Comments
GENERAL
GENERAL
The only acceptable definition of gluten-free is the total absence of wheat, barley, rye and oats. Specific terms must be used to identify the source of ingredients and be clearly indentified in order for consumers to make an informed decision about the purchases that they make. Manufacturers should also identify on the product label if the potential exits for cross-contamination during maufacturing or packaging.