Archived Content

The content on this page is provided for reference purposes only. This content has not been altered or updated since it was archived.

Safety

Recall -- Firm Press Release

FDA posts press releases and other notices of recalls and market withdrawals from the firms involved as a service to consumers, the media, and other interested parties. FDA does not endorse either the product or the company.

 

General Mills Issues Voluntary Recall Of Cheerios And Honey Nut Cheerios Cereal Produced At Its Lodi, California Location On Certain Dates

Contact:
Consumer:
1-800-775-8370

Media:
Tom Forsythe
763-764-6364
 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEMinneapolis, Minn. – October 5, 2015 – General Mills is voluntarily recalling several days of production of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereal produced at its Lodi, California facility on certain dates in July of this year because of an undeclared allergen – wheat – with potential adverse health effects.

Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced on these dates at the company's Lodi, California facility are being recalled because an isolated incident resulted in wheat flour being inadvertently introduced into the gluten free oat flour system at its Lodi facility. As a result, the products may contain an undeclared allergen – wheat – in products labeled as gluten-free.

General Mills will recall and retrieve affected cereals produced on those dates from customer warehouses and store shelves. Consumers with wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance should not consume products bearing the affected code dates and should contact General Mills for a replacement or full refund.

This voluntary recall includes four days production of original (yellow box) Cheerios, and thirteen days of production of Honey Nut Cheerios at its Lodi, California facility with the following "BETTER IF USED BY" code dates and the plant code LD which indicates the product was produced at Lodi, California:

Honey Nut CheeriosYellow Box Cheerios
12JUL2016LD17JUL2016LD23JUL2016LD14JUL2016LD
13JUL2016LD18JUL2016LD24JUL2016LD15JUL2016LD
14JUL2016LD20JUL2016LD25JUL2016LD16JUL2016LD
15JUL2016LD21JUL2016LD 17JUL2016LD
16JUL2016LD22JUL2016LD  

Products containing wheat can cause illness or severe reactions for individuals with wheat allergies or celiac disease. Products containing wheat can also cause illness or discomfort for individuals with gluten intolerance.

General Mills is transitioning five varieties of Cheerios to gluten free. Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereals produced at General Mills’ other facilities, or on dates other than those noted at the Lodi, California facility, are not impacted. General Mills’ other gluten-free Cheerios varieties – including Apple Cinnamon Cheerios, Frosted Cheerios and MultiGrain Cheerios – are not impacted and are not being recalled. No other General Mills cereals are affected

Consumers requesting refunds or calling with further questions should contact General Mills Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370.

###

FDA investigates complaints associated with Cheerios labeled gluten free

RSS Feed for FDA Recalls Information [what’s this?]

Photo: Product Labels

Recalled Product Photos Are Also Available on FDA’s Flickr Photostream.

 

Page Last Updated: 10/06/2015
Note: If you need help accessing information in different file formats, see Instructions for Downloading Viewers and Players.