• Decrease font size
  • Return font size to normal
  • Increase font size
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Safety

  • Print
  • Share
  • E-mail

Recall -- Firm Press Release

FDA posts press releases and other notices of recalls and market withdrawals from the firms involved as a service to consumers, the media, and other interested parties. FDA does not endorse either the product or the company.

Kinnikinnick Foods Inc. Issues Allergy Alert on Soy Protein in Donuts

Contact:
Jerry Bigam
1-877-503-4466

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE -- Alberta, Canada -- January 19, 2005 -- Kinnikinnick Foods Inc. of Edmonton, Alberta, Canada is recalling Packages of Gluten Free Chocolate Dipped and Cinnamon Sugar Donuts because they contain Soy Protein rather than Pea Protein that is listed on the label. People who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to Soy Protein run the risk of serious or life-threatening allergic reaction if they consume these products.

These donuts were distributed throughout all States in the USA through retail stores, specialty health food stores and through our direct home delivery program. Consumers who purchased product through our direct home delivery program will have already been notified of the labeling error.

The products are identified as follows:

Products in preprinted bags correctly label the ingredients and are not affected by this recall. Only products with applied labels are affected.

  • Kinnikinnick Gluten Free Chocolate Dipped Donuts UPC 620133002162
    17 oz. (480 gram) Package. Best Before Date between 04152005 and 09202005
  • Kinnikinnick Gluten Free Cinnamon Sugar Donuts UPC 620133002155
    17 oz. (480 gram) Package. Best Before Date 04152005 and 09202005.

Products are sold in poly bags in the freezer section of retail stores. Products sold directly to households come in poly bags delivered fresh.

No illnesses or allergenic reactions have been reported to date.

The company is currently eliminating all Soy based products from its product line and the recall was initiated after it was discovered that Soy Protein had not been replaced in these production runs and therefore was present in the products. Subsequent investigation indicates the problem was caused by a temporary breakdown in the company's production and packaging processes.

Consumers who have purchased these products and are concerned about any allergenic reaction or sensitivity to Soy Protein are urged to return it to the place of purchase for a full refund. Consumers with questions may contact the company toll free at 1 877 503 4466.

####

RSS Feed for FDA Recalls Information