News & Events

Weekly Media Tip Sheet

 

FDA News & Notes – Week of Jan. 26, 2015  

 
Science, public health, and regulatory highlights from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Information in this document is designed for credentialed journalists. Release dates and times for items are current as of Jan. 26, 2015. Times listed are local time.
 
FDA News & Notes does not contain any regulatory or enforcement actions due to legal limitations.
  
Events and Speeches for the Commissioner and FDA Leadership:
 
Wednesday, 1/28 – FDA Commissioner, Margaret A. Hamburg, will deliver the key note address at the 2015 Personalized Medicine World Conference in Mountain View, California.
Press Office Contacts: Jeff Ventura, 301-796-7567, jeff.ventura@fda.hhs.gov
 
In Case You Missed It:
 
Friday, 1/23 – News Release: FDA permits marketing of first system of mobile medical apps for continuous glucose monitoring. The FDA allowed marketing of the first set of mobile medical apps that allow people with diabetes to automatically and securely share data from a continuous glucose monitor (CGM) with other people in real-time using an Apple mobile device such as an iPhone.
Press Office Contact: Jennifer Haliski, 301-796-0776, jennifer.haliski@fda.hhs.gov           
 
Friday, 1/23 – News Release: FDA approves a second vaccine to prevent serogroup B meningococcal disease. The FDA approved Bexsero, a vaccine to prevent invasive meningococcal disease caused by Neisseria meningitidis serogroup B in individuals 10 through 25 years of age.  
Press Office Contact: Tara Goodin, 240-402-3157, tara.goodin@fda.hhs.gov                 
 
Friday, 1/23 – News Release: FDA approves Natpara to control low blood calcium levels in patients with hypoparathyroidism. The FDA approved approved Natpara (parathyroid horomone) to control hypocalcemia (low blood calcium levels) in patients with hypoparathyroidism, a rare disease that affects approximately 60,000 people in the United States.
Press Office Contact: Eric Pahon, 240-402-4177, eric.pahon@fda.hhs.gov     
 
Friday, 1/23 – News Release: Second Turkish man sentenced for smuggling counterfeit cancer drugs. The U.S. District Court of the Eastern District of Missouri sentenced Sabahhadin Akman, an owner of the Turkish firm Ozay Pharmaceuticals, to 30 months imprisonment and a $150,000 fine for smuggling counterfeit, misbranded and adulterated cancer treatment drugs into the U.S., including multiple shipments of Altuzan, the Turkish version of Avastin.
Press Office Contact: Christopher Kelly, 301-796-4676, christopher.kelly@fda.hhs.gov
 
Wednesday, 1/21 – News Release: FDA approves new psoriasis drug Cosentyx. The FDA approved Cosentyx (secukinumab) to treat adults with moderate-to-severe plaque psoriasis.   
Press Office Contact: Andrea Fischer, 301-796-0393, andrea.fischer@fda.hhs.gov   
 
Wednesday, 1/21 – FDA Voice Blog: A CDRH Priority: Clinical Trials in the U.S. At the Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH), clinical trials are the foundation for our decisions to approve the most important medical devices—products that have the potential to save or sustain life, but that also present the greatest risk to patients. Read the entire blog at FDA Voice.   
Press Office Contact: Jennifer Rodriguez, 301-796-8232, jennifer.rodriguez@fda.hhs.gov
       
  
FDA Office of Media Affairs Contact Information:
 
FDA News & Notes Inquiries: Fallon Smith, 301-796-8632, fallon.smith@fda.hhs.gov
General Inquiries: Call or e-mail FDA Office of Media Affairs, 301-796-4540, fdaoma@fda.hhs.gov
 
More Resources:
Read our Blog: FDA Voice
FDA Photos (Flickr)
 
 
# # #

 

Page Last Updated: 01/26/2015
Note: If you need help accessing information in different file formats, see Instructions for Downloading Viewers and Players.