News & Events

Weekly Media Tip Sheet

FDA News & Notes – Week of June 29, 2015  

 
Science, public health, and regulatory highlights from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Information in this document is designed for credentialed journalists. Release dates and times for items are current as of June 29, 2015. Times listed are local time.
 
FDA News & Notes does not contain any regulatory or enforcement actions due to legal limitations.
 
Meetings, Workshops and Congressional Testimony:
 
Wednesday, 7/1 – Thursday, 7/2 – The FDA’s Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, in collaboration with the National Institutes of Drug Abuse, the CDC, the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, and the Health Resources and Services Administration, will host a public meeting, Exploring Naloxone Uptake and Use. The meeting will initiate a public discussion surrounding the uptake of naloxone in certain medical settings as well as outside of conventional medical settings to reduce the incidence of opioid overdose fatalities. Academia, government, industry experts, and patient advocates will discuss which populations are at risk for opioid overdose and how public health groups can work together to use naloxone to reduce the risk of overdose. The meeting will take place beginning at 8 a.m. on both days at the FDA’s White Oak campus, Silver Spring, Maryland.
Press Office Contacts: Eric Pahon, 240-402-4117, eric.pahon@fda.hhs.gov and Jeff Ventura, 301-796-7567, jeff.ventura@fda.hhs.gov
 
In Case You Missed It:
 
Friday, 6/26 – News Release: OtisMed Corporation former CEO sentenced for shipping adulterated knee replacement cutting guides. The U.S. District Court of the District of New Jersey sentenced the OtisMed Corporation’s former chief executive officer, Charlie Chi, to 24 months in prison and also ordered him to serve one year of supervised release and to pay a $75,000 fine.
Press Office Contact: Christopher Kelly, 301-796-4676, christopher.kelly@fda.hhs.gov
 
Friday, 6/26 – FDA Voice Blog: FDA Engages Internationally to Promote Access to Safe, Effective Animal Medicines. Regulators around the world are reaching across national borders as they work together to ensure the safety of veterinary medical products.
Press Office Contact: Juli Putnam, 240-402-0537, juli.putnam@fda.hhs.gov
 
Thursday, 6/25 – FDA Voice Blog: Thinking About FSMA Issues. Implementation of the FDA Food Safety Modernization Act involves people at all segments of the food supply chain, from farm to table. On April 23-24, 2015, the FDA held a public meeting in Washington D.C. to discuss its plans to implement FSMA rules designed to build a food safety system that focuses on prevention and risk.
Press Office Contact: Jennifer Dooren, 301-796-2983, jennifer.dooren@fda.hhs.gov
 
Tuesday, 6/23 – Consumer Update: Kids and Tobacco Use: Some Surprising Findings. The number of kids smoking cigarettes is down—but the number using other tobacco products is way up. That’s the word from the 2014 National Youth Tobacco Survey, co-conducted by the CDC and the FDA.
Press Office Contact: Michael Felberbaum, 240-402-9548, michael.felberbaum@fda.hhs
 
Monday, 6/22 – News Release: FDA approves new antiplatelet drug used during heart procedure. The FDA approved Kengreal (cangrelor), an intravenous antiplatelet drug that prevents formation of harmful blood clots in the coronary arteries, the blood vessels that supply blood to the heart. It is approved for adult patients undergoing percutaneous coronary intervention, a procedure used to open a blocked or narrowed coronary artery to improve blood flow to the heart muscle.

Press Office Contact: Sarah Peddicord, 301-796-2805, sarah.peddicord@fda.hhs.gov

 

FDA Office of Media Affairs Contact Information:

 
FDA News & Notes Inquiries: Fallon Smith, 301-796-8632, fallon.smith@fda.hhs.gov
General Inquiries: Call or e-mail FDA Office of Media Affairs, 301-796-4540, fdaoma@fda.hhs.gov
 
More Resources:
Read our Blog: FDA Voice
FDA Photos (Flickr)
 
 
# # #

 

Page Last Updated: 06/29/2015
Note: If you need help accessing information in different file formats, see Instructions for Downloading Viewers and Players.