Food

FDA's Participation in Codex

FDA participates and exercises leadership in all committees of the Codex Alimentarius Commission. The objective of FDA’s participation in Codex is to develop science-based international food safety, labeling, and other pertinent standards that provide a level of consumer protection, labeling information, and prevention of economic fraud and deception that is consistent with that provided by corresponding U.S. regulations and laws.

FDA ensures that processes are in place to develop and articulate clear U.S. Delegation positions that enhance and promote consumer protection and reflect input by all stakeholders on matters before relevant Codex committees. 

FDA Participants in CODEX Committees

CFSAN Codex Program Coordinator: 
Dr. H. Michael Wehr, michael.wehr@fda.hhs.gov

CVM Codex Program Coordinator: 
Dr. Merton Smith, merton.smith@fda.hhs.gov 

General Subject Committees

General Principles
Contact: Michael Wehr, michael.wehr@fda.hhs.gov

Food Additives
Contact: Dennis Keefe (U.S. Delegate), dennis.keefe@fda.hhs.gov

Food Contaminants
Contact: Nega Beru (U.S. Delegate), nega.beru@fda.hhs.gov

Food Hygiene
Contact: Donald Zink (U.S. Delegate), donald.zink@fda.hhs.gov

Food Labelling
Contact: Barbara Schneeman (U.S. Delegate), barbara.schneeman@fda.hhs.gov

Nutrition and Foods for Special Dietary Uses
Contact: Barbara Schneeman (U.S. Delegate), barbara.schneeman@fda.hhs.gov

Food Import and Export Inspection and Certification Systems
Contact: Michael Wehr (U.S. Alternate Delegate), michael.wehr@fda.hhs.gov

Methods of Analysis and Sampling
Contact: Gregory Diachenko (U.S. Delegate), gregory.diachenko@fda.hhs.gov

Pesticide Residues
Contact: Young Lee (Member of U.S. Delegation), young.lee@fda.hhs.gov

Residues of Veterinary Drugs in Foods
Contact: Steven Vaughn (U.S. Delegate), steven.vaughn@fda.hhs.gov 

Commodity Committees

Milk and Milk Products
Contact: John Sheehan (U.S. Alternate Delegate), john.sheehan@fda.hhs.gov

Fish and Fishery Products
Contact: Donald Kraemer (U.S. Delegate), donald.kraemer@fda.hhs.gov

Processed Fruits and Vegetables
Contact: Paul South (U.S. Alternate Delegate), paul.south@fda.hhs.gov

Fresh Fruits and Vegetables
Contact: Michelle Smith (U.S. Alternate Delegate), michelle.smith@fda.hhs.gov

Fats and Oils
Contact: Dennis Keefe (U.S. Delegate), dennis.keefe@fda.hhs.gov

Sugars
Contact: Martin Stutsman (U.S. Delegate), martin.stutsman@fda.hhs.gov

Cereals, Pulses and Legumes
Contact: Henry Kim (U.S. Delegate), henry.kim@fda.hhs.gov

Natural Mineral Waters
Contact: Lauren Robin (U.S. Delegate), lauren.robin@fda.hhs.gov

Cocoa Products and Chocolate
Contact: Michelle Smith (U.S. Delegate), michelle.smith@fda.hhs.gov

Ad-Hoc Intergovernmental Task Forces

Antimicrobial Resistance
Contact: David White (U.S. Delegate), david.white@fda.hhs.gov

Regional Coordinating Committees - North America and the Southwest Pacific
Contact: Michael Wehr, michael.wehr@fda.hhs.gov

Page Last Updated: 06/01/2014
Note: If you need help accessing information in different file formats, see Instructions for Downloading Viewers and Players.