Food

FDA's Participation in Codex

FDA participates and exercises leadership in the Codex Alimentarius Commission, by working closely with the U.S. Codex Office at the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The objective of FDA’s participation in Codex is to develop science-based international food safety, labeling, and other pertinent standards that provide consumer protection, labeling information, and prevention of economic fraud and deception that are consistent with U.S. regulations and laws.

FDA uses procedures that promote consumer protection and transparency, as it works with the U.S. Codex Office to develop U.S. Delegation positions on matters before relevant Codex committees. 

FDA Participants in CODEX Committees

CFSAN Codex Program Coordinator:
Caroline Smith DeWaal, caroline.dewaal@fda.hhs.gov

CVM Codex Program Coordinator:
Michael Oehlsen, michael.oehlsen@fda.hhs.gov

General Subject Committees

Codex Alimentarius Commission
Contact: Camille Brewer, camille.brewer@fda.hhs.gov

General Principles
Contact: Camille Brewer, camille.brewer@fda.hhs.gov

Food Additives
Contact: Paul Honigfort, paul.honigfort@fda.hhs.gov

Food Contaminants
Contact: Lauren Posnick Robin, lauren.robin@fda.hhs.gov

Food Hygiene
Contact: Jenny Scott, jenny.scott@fda.hhs.gov

Food Labelling
Contact: Felicia Billingslea, felicia.billingslea@fda.hhs.gov

Nutrition and Foods for Special Dietary Uses
Contact: Doug Balentine, douglas.balentine@fda.hhs.gov

Food Import and Export Inspection and Certification Systems
Contact: Caroline DeWaal, caroline.dewaal@fda.hhs.gov

Methods of Analysis and Sampling
Contact: Gregory Noonan, gregory.noonan@fda.hhs.gov

Pesticide Residues
Contact: Charlotte Liang, charlotte.liang@fda.hhs.gov

Residues of Veterinary Drugs in Foods
Contact: Brandi Robinson, brandi.robinson@fda.hhs.gov  

Commodity Committees

Cocoa Products and Chocolate
Inactive

Cereals, Pulses and Legumes
Contact: Henry Kim, henry.kim@fda.hhs.gov

Fats and Oils
Contact: Paul South, paul.south@fda.hhs.gov

Fish and Fishery Products
Inactive

Fresh Fruits and Vegetables
Contact: David Ingram, david.ingram@fda.hhs.gov

Milk and Milk Products
Contact: John Sheehan, john.sheehan@fda.hhs.gov

Natural Mineral Waters
Contact: Yinqing Ma, yinqing.ma@fda.hhs.gov

Processed Fruits and Vegetables
Contact: Yinqing Ma, yinqing.ma@fda.hhs.gov

Spices and Culinary Herbs
Contact: George Ziobro, george.ziobro@fda.hhs.gov

Sugars
Contact: Charlotte Liang, charlotte.liang@fda.hhs.gov

Page Last Updated: 08/30/2016
Note: If you need help accessing information in different file formats, see Instructions for Downloading Viewers and Players.