• Decrease font size
  • Return font size to normal
  • Increase font size
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Animal & Veterinary

  • Print
  • Share
  • E-mail

University of Nairobi, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

Flag of Kenya 

Kabete, Kenya

  • Made up of six colleges, the University of Nairobidisclaimer icon is the largest university in Kenya.
  • U.S. Senator Chris Coons (D-Del.) participated in a study abroad program at the University of Nairobi during his junior year at Amherst College. Senator Coons was recently named chair of the Senate Foreign Relations Subcommittee on African Affairs.1
  • The Faculty of Veterinary Medicinedisclaimer icon is in the university’s College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences,disclaimer icon located on the Upper Kabete Campus. The campus is 14 kilometers, or 8.7 miles, northwest of Nairobi.
  • Veterinary training at Kabete started in 1942. Graduates received a diploma certificate, but because they were only recognized as assistants to veterinary officers, a degree program in veterinary sciences was necessary. Established in 1962 under the University of East Africa, the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine is one of the oldest degree-granting faculties. It became part of the University of Nairobi in 1970 and remains the only veterinary school in Kenya.
  • After a 5-year program, students graduate with a Bachelor of Veterinary Medicine (BVM).










1 http://coons.senate.gov/press/release/?id=6B69CC2F-FF46-457A-9113-2B69A2C9EDD8