• Decrease font size
  • Return font size to normal
  • Increase font size
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Animal & Veterinary

  • Print
  • Share
  • E-mail


FDA Veterinarian Newsletter September/October 2000 Volume XV, No. V

The reorganization package for three new teams in CVM’s Office of New Animal Drug Evaluation (ONADE) has been approved. The official names, placement in the office, and functions are as follows:

  1. Risk Analysis Team -- The Risk Analysis Team is located under the Office of the Director, ONADE. The Team consists of specialized scientific appointments and is responsible for implementing the President’s Food Safety Initiative and providing risk analysis capabilities for the Office and Center. Staffing for this Team is ongoing at this time.
  2. Aquaculture Drugs Team -- The Aquaculture Drugs Team is part of the Division of Therapeutic Drugs for Food Animals. The formation of this Team recognizes a specialized scientific function that is performed within the Division. The Team oversees the CVM aquaculture program and evaluates the safety and effectiveness of new animal drugs for use in aquaculture. Dr. Joan Gotthardt has been appointed as Team Leader, and current members include Dr. Donald Prater, and Mr. Ben Puyot.
  3. Microbial Food Safety Team -- The Microbial Food Safety Team is part of the Division of Human Food Safety. The formation of this Team recognizes a new specialized scientific function within that Division. The Team’s primary function is to review pre-approval protocols and studies designed to evaluate the potential microbiological hazard posed by antimicrobial residues in food and the development of resistant organisms in food animals. In addition, the Team provides expertise and input into broader issues dealing with microbial safety and antibiotic use. Staffing for this team is ongoing at this time.