• Decrease font size
  • Return font size to normal
  • Increase font size
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Animal & Veterinary

  • Print
  • Share
  • E-mail


FDA Veterinarian Newsletter March/April 2000 Volume XV, No II

by Karen A. Kandra

FDA's Atlanta District Director, Ballard Graham, has been selected to chair CVM’s Field Committee, succeeding Mike Rogers, who retired at the end of 1999, and Charles Breen, the Interim CVM Committee Chair.

A native of Indianapolis, Mr. Graham was a Navy Hospital Corpsman aboard the U.S.S. Chicago, prior to joining FDA's Detroit District Office in 1970. He then moved to Sioux Falls, South Dakota, as the Resident Investigator In-Charge. While there, he investigated many medicated feed mills, countless tissue residue violators, and veterinarians who injected feedlot cattle with illegal drugs.

Following his stint in Sioux Falls, Mr. Graham served as Supervisory Investigator in the Newark District Office (now the New Jersey District), where he dealt with multiple pharmaceutical firms, especially in 1990, when generic drugs became one of FDA's top priorities.

A tour as Director of Investigations in the Philadelphia District provided further regulatory experience, including Chilean fruit investigations, and injunctions of a repeat tissue residue violator, and a global pharmaceutical manufacturer.

Mr. Graham moved to his present position as Atlanta's District Director in 1994. His vast experience makes him ideally suited to lead the efforts of the CVM Field Committee.

FDA Field Committees meet routinely with Center representatives to address program priorities or modifications, special assignments, resource utilization, and significant issues of concern to either party. This type of partnering offers a key mechanism in FDA's efforts to optimize consumer protection in carrying out its mission. In addition, Committee members act as liaisons with State agencies who play key roles in the enforcement of FDA's regulations. Other CVM Field Committee members include Noel Ferguson, Kansas City District; Brenda Holman, New York District; James Dunnie, Office of Regional Operations/Division of Emergency Investigational Operations; Anita McCurdy, Office of Resource Management; and Steve Solomon, Office of Enforcement.