• Decrease font size
  • Return font size to normal
  • Increase font size
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Animal & Veterinary

  • Print
  • Share
  • E-mail

New VMAC Members

by Aleta Sindelar
FDA Veterinarian Newsletter November/December 2003 Volume XVIII, No 6

Six new members have been selected to join FDA's Veterinary Medicine Advisory Committee (VMAC).

Dr. Corrie C. Brown, D.V.M., Ph.D. is a professor in the Department of Pathology and Coordinator of International Activities at the College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Georgia. Her expertise is pathology, and the research in her laboratory has focused on the pathogenesis of infectious diseases of food-producing animals.

Dr. Arthur L. Craigmill, Ph.D. is a toxicology specialist in the Department of Environmental Toxicology at the University of California at Davis. His area of expertise on the committee is veterinary toxicology. Dr. Craigmill serves as the Western Region Coordinator for the IR-4 Minor Use Animal Drug Program, as well as the Food Animal Residue Avoidance Databank (FARAD).

Dr. Sherman (Skip) W. Jack, D.V.M. is a professor of veterinary pathology and assistant director in the Department of Pathobiology and Population Medicine within the Diagnostic Laboratory Services of the College of Veterinary Medicine at Mississippi State University (MSU). Dr. Jack also serves as the pathology service chief in the College of Veterinary Medicine at MSU and serves primarily in the fish diagnostic lab at MSU. His area of specialty on the committee is minor use/minor species veterinary medicine.

Dr. John J. McGlone, Ph.D. is a professor of animal and food sciences and cell biology and biochemistry (joint appointment in Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center). He is also the director of the Pork Industry Institute in the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources at Texas Tech University, and he was certified a Professional Animal Scientist by the American Registry of Animal Science. He currently serves on the Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees of the Association for the Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care, International and the Animal Care, Use and Standards Committee of the Federation of Animal Science Societies. His research focus is on the science of animal welfare, stress physiology and behavior. His specialty on the committee is animal science.

Dr. Lisa K. Nolan, D.V.M., Ph.D. has been recently appointed as professor and Chair of the Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Preventative Medicine at Iowa State University. Her research focuses on bacterial diseases of production animals, including their effects on animal health, public health and food safety. Her specialty on the committee is microbiology.

Dr. Mark G. Papich, D.V.M., M.S. is a professor of clinical pharmacology in the Molecular Biomedical Sciences Department of the College of Veterinary Medicine at North Carolina State University. He is a past-president and chairman of the Board of the American College of Veterinary Clinical Pharmacology. He also is a fellow in the American Academy of Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics and a member of the American Society of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics. His expertise on the committee is pharmacology.

Dr. John Waddell, D.V.M. whose expertise is food animal medicine, replaces Dr. Vernon C. Langston as current Chair of the Committee. Dr. Waddell joined the committee in November 2000. He is a Managing Partner of the Sutton Veterinary Clinic, in Sutton, Nebraska.

The Center is seeking nominations for vacancies in the areas of Biostatistics and Companion Animal Medicine, as well as a consumer representative to replace retired consumer representative, Richard R. Wood. Written nominations should be directed to the Executive Secretary, Aleta Sindelar at 7519 Standish Place, Rockville, MD 20855, and may be emailed to asindela@cvm.fda.gov.