• Decrease font size
  • Return font size to normal
  • Increase font size
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Animal & Veterinary

  • Print
  • Share
  • E-mail


FDA Veterinarian Newsletter May/June 1998 Volume XIII, No III

Five new members have been selected to join FDA's Veterinary Medicine Advisory Committee (VMAC). The new members are Vernon C. Langston, Ph.D., D.V.M., Robert E. Holland, D.V.M., Wanda M. Haschek-Hock, Ph.D., Janis Livingstone Cleland, D.V.M., and Richard R. Wood. They replace former members Sue Hudson Duran, Dr. Gary Koritz, Dr. Alice Wolf, and Dr. Nancy K. Jaax.

Dr. Langston is an expert in veterinary pharmacology. He is Associate Professor of Veterinary Medicine at Mississippi State University, College of Veterinary Medicine. He is Board-Certified as a Diplomate, American College of Veterinary Clinical Pharmacology. Previously, Dr. Langston served as the Chairman of the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) Drug Information Division Veterinary Advisory Panel, and as Executive Council of the American Academy of Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics.

Dr. Holland is an Associate Professor in the Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences, Michigan State University. Currently, he is the Animal Drug Coordinator for the North Central IR-4 Program, a project designed to facilitate approval of drugs for minor species. He is a widely respected expert in significant research devoted to minor uses of drugs.

Dr. Hasched-Hock is Professor and Head of the Department of Veterinary Pathobiology, College of Veterinary Medicine, University of Illinois. She is Board-Certified by the American College of Veterinary Pathologists, in addition to the American Board of Toxicology. Her research efforts have included toxicologic pathology as well as other research in the area of pathology.

Dr. Cleland is an outstanding small animal clinician. Among her accomplishments, she is Board-Certified as a Diplomate, American Board of Veterinary Practitioners in Companion Animal Medicine, is currently Editor for the Journal of the American Animal Hospital Association, and has recently served as a member of the Council on Biologic and Therapeutic Agents, American Veterinary Medical Association.

Mr. Wood is currently Executive Director of the Food Animal Concerns Trust (FACT), a non-profit organization that advocates better farming practices. Mr. Wood has a history of working with consumers and helping them respond to public policy on both the State and National level. Dr. Donald Lein remains the chairman of VMAC, and other members include Dr. Fred Angulo, Dr. Steven A. Barker, Dr. George Cooper, Dr. Oscar Fletcher, Dr. Diane Gerken, Dr. Ling-Jung Koong, and Dr. Keith Sterner. VMAC members normally serve four-year terms.