• Decrease font size
  • Return font size to normal
  • Increase font size
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Animal & Veterinary

  • Print
  • Share
  • E-mail

CVM Scientists Win Awards

February 23, 2000

At the FDA's Scientific Achievement Awards Ceremony held February 15, 2000, the following awards were announced for CVM scientists:

Outstanding Intercenter Scientific Collaboration

PCR Feed Methodology Validation Group

  • Michael J. Myers, Ph.D. - CVM
  • Dorothy E. Farrell - CVM
  • Sharon Friedman - CVM
  • Warren L. Campbell - NCTR
  • Rong-Fu Wang, Ph.D. - NCTR
  • Donald D. Paine - NCTR
  • Carl E. Cerniglia, Ph.D. - NCTR
  • Steven C. Madzo - ORA

For participation in a validation trial of a PCR-based method that detects bovine-derived materials that will be used in support of the feed ban.

Jurgen von Bredow, Ph.D. - Excellence in Analytical Science
For the development and evaluation of methods and protocols for the performance certification of diagnostic screening tests for antibiotic residues in milk.

Joseph Kawalek, Ph.D. - Excellence in Laboratory Science
For sustained research on in vitro drug metabolism assays in food-producing animals to validate their use as alternatives and supplements to whole animal experiments.

Kevin J. Greenlees, Ph.D. - Excellence in Review Science
For development of human food safety standards for New Animal Drug Applications for aquatic food animals.

The Center for Veterinary Medicine is proud of the accomplishments of these award-winning scientists and congratulates all FDA award winners.


Contact FDA

240-276-9115 FAX
Issued by: FDA, Center for Veterinary Medicine

Communications Staff, HFV-12

7519 Standish Place

Rockville, MD 20855