• Decrease font size
  • Return font size to normal
  • Increase font size
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

About FDA

  • Print
  • Share
  • E-mail

APPENDIX G - FY 2005 OSEL Laboratories and Laboratory Leaders

Division of Biology

Toxicology (biocompatibility): Peter Goering, Ph.D. (301.796.0253) or peter.goering@fda.hhs.gov

Laboratory of Cardiovascular and Interventional Therapeutics :

John Karanian (301.210.4247)or john.karanian@fda.hhs.gov

Biological Risk Assessment (infection control): Ronald Brown (301.796.0252) or ronald.brown1@fda.hhs.gov

Radiation Biology (photosciences): Howard Cyr Ph.D. (301.796.0297) or howard.cyr@fda.hhs.gov

Biomolecular Mechanisms (molecular biology, immunology, allergy, cell biology, genomics/genetics): TBD - contact Marilyn Lightfoote , Director DB (301.796.0235) or marilyn.lightfoote@fda.hhs.gov

Biotechnology (biosensors, nanotechnology): John Langone, Ph.D. (301.796.0245) or john.langone@fda.hhs.gov

Division of Chemistry and Materials Science

Materials Chemistry : Joyce Whang, Ph.D. (301.827.4876) or joyce.whang@fda.hhs.gov

Experimental Pathology : Steve Hilbert, MD (301.827.4756) or stephen.hilbert@fda.hhs.gov

Division of Electrical and Software Engineering

Software : Joseph Jorgens (301.443.5020 ext. 136) or joseph.jorgens@fda.hhs.gov

Electrical Engineering : TBD - contact Al Taylor, Director DESE (301.442.2536 ext. 147) or alford.taylor@fda.hhs.gov

System Engineering : TBD - contact Al Taylor, Director DESE (301.442.2536 ext. 147) or alford.taylor@fda.hhs.gov

Division of Imaging and Applied Mathematics

Medical Imaging and Diagnostics : Kyle Myers, Ph.D. (301.443.5020 ext. 150) or kyle.myers@fda.hhs.gov

Ionizing Radiation Metrology : Frank Cerra (301.443.2536 ext. 123) or frank.cerra@fda.hhs.gov

Division of Physics

Electro-physiology and Electrical Stimulation : Victor Krauthamer, Ph.D. (301.827.4956) or victor.krauthamer@fda.hhs.gov

Electromagnetic and Wireless Technology : Howard Bassen (301.827.4950) or howard.bassen@fda.hhs.gov

Optical Diagnostics and Therapeutics : Joshua Pfefer, Ph.D. (301.827.4679) or joshua.pfefer@fda.hhs.gov

Optical Radiation Safety and Devices : Sharon Miller (301.827.4692) or sharon.miller1@fda.hhs.gov

Division of Solid and Fluid Mechanics

Fluid Dynamics : Michael Berman, PhD (301.827.4744) or michael.berman@fda.hhs.gov

Mechanics : Stan Brown, PhD (301.827.4751) or stanley.brown@fda.hhs.gov

Ultrasonics : Gerald Harris, PhD (301.827.5616) or gerald.harris@fda.hhs.gov

 

Office of Science and Engineering Laboratories Organization Chart (as of 2/1/06)

OFFICE OF THE DIRECTOR 

DIRECTOR: Larry Kessler, Sc.D. (827-4777) (HFZ-100)

Deputy Director for Science and Strategic Initiatives: William Herman* (301) 827-5599 (HFZ-100)

Deputy Director for Program Policy and Evaluation: Subhas Malghan, Ph.D. (301) 827-4777 (HFZ-100)

Associate Director for Compliance Activities: Thomas Lee (301) 827-4993 (HFZ-160)

Associate Director for Laboratories: Charles Warr (301) 827-4721 (HFZ-105)

Outreach Coordinator: Ann Mastradone (301) 827-4777 (HFZ-100)

*Acting

STANDARDS MANGEMENT STAFF (SMS )

DIRECTOR: Carol Herman (301) 827-0004 (HFZ-84)

Deputy Director: Gail Strieter (301) 827-0027 (HFZ-84)

MANGEMENT SUPPORT SERVICES (PMO)

PMO DIRECTOR: Angie Clingerman (827-4727) (HFZ-105)

KM DIRECTOR: Ginnie Mashburn (827-4663) (HFZ-106)

DIVISION OF BIOLOGY (DB)

DIRECTOR: Marilyn Lightfoote, M.D., Ph.D (301) 796-0235 (HFZ-110)

DEPUTY DIRECTOR: Melvin Stratmeyer, Ph.D. (301) 796-0261 (HFZ-120)

DEPUTY DIRECTOR: John Langone, Ph.D. (301) 796-0245 (HFZ-110)

DIVISION OF CHEMISTRY AND MATERIALS SCIENCE (DCMS)

DIRECTOR: Steven Pollack, Ph.D. (301) 827-4710 (HFZ-150)

DEPUTY DIRECTOR: Joyce Whang, Ph.D. (301) 827-4876 (HFZ-150)

DIVISION OF PHYSICS (DP)

DIRECTOR: Joel Myklebust, P.E., Ph.D. (301) 827-5601(HFZ-130)

DEPUTY DIRECTOR: Brian Beard, Ph.D. (301) 827-4958 (HFZ-130)

DIVISION OF SOLID AND FLUID MECHANICS (DSFM)

DIRECTOR: Laurence Grossman, Ph.D. (301) 827-5611 (HFZ-170)

DEPUTY DIRECTOR: Jon Casamento (301) 827-4959 (HFZ-170)

DIVISION OF IMAGING AND APPLIED MATHEMATICS (DIAM)  

DIRECTOR: David Brown, Ph.D. (301) 443-3314 x 140 (HFZ-140)

DEPUTY DIRECTOR: Thomas Shope Jr. , Ph.D (301) 443-3314 x 132 (HFZ-140)

DIVISION OF ELECTRICAL AND SOFTWARE ENGINEERING (DESE)

DIRECTOR: Alford Taylor Jr. (301) 827-5061 (HFZ-160)

DEPUTY DIRECTOR: Brian Fitzgerald (301) 827- 4718 (HFZ-160)